Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 6 April 2015
Fantastic book from
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2005
For those who are new to this author, starting Someplace to be Flying may be a bit disorienting, especially coming from a pure Fantasy or even Science Fiction background. But even that won't put you off as you almost instantly connect with the main character, and your first glimpse of a world on the edge of sight, namely The Crow Girls, grabs you and gets the brain whirring with the what, who, why and how.
From then on the pace is spot on, introducing more characters, their stories and their connections to the whole story, leading to a build up and ending which leaves you feeling relieved, nauseous, happy, sad and burning with curiosity - but in a good way!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
I can appreciate genius and Charles de Lint is definitely that, but in a beautiful way. This story, like all his tales, draws you into the multiplicity of the universe around us by introducing amazing characters that exist so close to us that we can almost sense their reality. The first story of his that I read was Trader. Since then I have been a fan and after reading The Little Country, my wife and I had to go and crawl through the Men-an-Tol. Someplace to be Flying is fascinating and I keep realising it is after midnight so I really should turn the light out and get some sleep, then read on a bit more. A superb read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Naughty Amazon I'm really annoyed with you, i bought this on kindle as i saw the publication date of 2013, and thought it was a new book, but shortly into reading it it was too familiar, i thought it might have been expanded from one of the short stories, but no i have it in paperback from 1998. it's not like i don't buy enough books on Amazon please be clearer in your descriptions.
still a great book though, Charles de Lint is a master bard of urban fantasy...unmatched and recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
A fantasy tour de force, full of memorable,fascinating and well drawn characters. Also this book contains one of the best openings that takes you imperceptibly from everyday realism into full blown weirdness without you realising that I have ever read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2001
this book is delightful moving exciting the characters are beautifully developed and the way he puts characters from pagan belief in a modern setting is brilliant a must for any true fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Good if you like native american folklore like i do but there are too many unnecessary characters and not enough happens. For a better read like this try American gods by Neil gaiman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2001
It is a truly enjoyable story. Once again Charles De Lint approaches his worlds within worlds storyline, but this is his best work to date which leaves you wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
One of his best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here