Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2001
Very detailed, practical advice on tackling both unseen prose and poetry. Technical terms carefully explained and I particularly liked the example of writing about Dover Beach - the poem and the approach to writing about it were analysed. This is a very practical 'hands-on' approach to literature, especially useful for worried A-level students who want something to 'hang on to'. Useful too for a teacher who wants something concrete to say!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2002
Explains criticism in poetry, the novel and all other forms of english literature. As a mature student renewing acqaintance with english, it has been one of the best books I have bought. It's simple, concise and gives confidence and understanding.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2002
Explains criticism in poetry, the novel and all other forms of english literature. As a mature student renewing acqaintance with english, it has been one of the best books I have bought. It's simple, concise and gives confidence and understanding.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
I started an english lit course at cardiff in september and really struggled, uni is so different from college! this book explains exactly how to deconstruct poetry and extracts from novels in a straightforward, practical way, it is exactly what I was looking for. I can return from the christmas holiday a lot more confident than before!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
after reading the reviews for this i decided i had nothing to lose by buying a copy. i was right to do so. it will help me a lot at uni, and as its a small book there is no weight to it, however it is full of knoweldge regarding poetry, prose and drama.thanks amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Great for my Uni work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
good readable copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)