Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The Playdate
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 June 2012
Haven't been able to put this down! The Playdate explores adult friendships and relationships formed in later life out of need, desperation and circumstances rather than those built on trust and a shared past. Choices are made out of selfishness, and deception abounds with devastating consequences. The story concentrates mainly on the effects on the adults but it is the children who suffer the most. Brilliantly written and I can hardly wait for the next book - Accidents Happen.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2013
The basic concept of this story has been used before however the author manages to successfully put her own spin on the tale and makes for a highly entertaining if slightly disturbing read!

Ms Millar writes impeccably and knows how to keep the author engrossed in her tale.

Completely believe central characters and i loved the fast paced twists in the final few chapters

i will be looking for more of this authors books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2015
Didn't read all this, sadly not for me and ended up deleting this from my Kindle library.

Will not read any more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2012
I really enjoyed the style and pace of this book, written from 3 perspective but with an obvious main character (Callie) and enough twists and turns to keep you interested. When all's said and done it's simple chick lit but great for taking my mind off university studies for a few minutes each night!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2017
A really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
Fantastic thriller mixed in with quite a few twists which keeps you turning the page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2012
I downloaded a sample of this in an idle moment and when I saw it was about mothers living in North London I'm afraid my heart sank. However, two or three pages in, I was hooked. This is a cracking story, more tense thriller than family drama, fast paced and densely plotted, with enough twists to keep you alert and interested to the end.

The author deftly builds up your expectations of the characters, playing with stereotypes and the reader's expectations of how they will behave. Nothing is quite what it seems and you are forced to review your opinion of every character from chapter to chapter. The central theme is a child in danger, and the adults' confusion and paranoia about what or who is the source of this threat, and how easily people jump to conclusions. For readers who don't have children (and it is certainly not necessary to be a parent to enjoy the book), Millar draws attention to the difference between the fantasy of idyllic family life in an affluent suburb of London with the often lonely reality of bringing up children when fathers are absent or disengaged, and when friends and work contacts have faded away. The story is as much about friendship and loneliness as it is about parenthood. She is also excellent about the impossible demands put on working mothers living in big cities and relying on dodgy public transport - there are some terrific descriptions of Callie's efforts to get to and from work and nursery against the clock by Tube which made my blood-pressure soar in sympathy.

Only two criticisms: the very first paragraph is clunky and almost put me off. Second, without wanting to give anything away, I found one character's transformation too abrupt, particularly her conversation with her husband from the wood. I don't believe this character would have used a mobile to say these things, or suddenly start using such confident language - her voice did not sound authentic here.

But in general, highly recommended - I will look out for Louise Millar's books in the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 March 2014
An interesting premise for this book - who do you trust with your child? The story is told through the viewpoints of three women. Callie is a single parent with a daughter who has a heart condition, Suzy is her best friend, an American based in London with three young children and an uncaring, emotionally retarded husband and Debs, a middle aged woman who comes to live in their street, harbouring a secret from her past. Which of these three women is trustworthy? they all have their secrets which are gradually revealed in the course of the novel.

This novel wasn't quite what I was expecting. It's billed as a psychological thriller which it isn't, not really. The title is a little misleading, yes, Rae, Callie's daughter is obsessed with being asked for a playdate but it isn't really the theme or the subject of the novel. All three women have secrets but are they really that big a deal? I thought this was ok, good for a quick read and I would read another by the same author but I felt there should have been more tension in it if it was really to be seen as a thriller, psychological or otherwise.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Callie and Suzy are neighbours on Churchill Road in north London. Callie is a single mother with a frail 5 year old daughter Rae while Suzy has 3 young sons, Henry also 5, and younger twin sons, Otto and Peter. The two women do everything together until Callie decides to dip her toe back into working life and Debs moves in to the same street.

Each of the three women narrate their own short chapters so as readers we are able to piece together their feelings, their secrets and what links these three women together.

The plot moves quickly and as the reader we know something amiss from the blurb. Who's child is in danger, who from and why? The themes in this story range through what makes a friendship, what part the past has to play on our lives and who should you trust? Some of the minor characters seemed to be clichéd but hey clichés exist for a reason!

Although there were some parts to this story which didn't seem to be followed through to their conclusion almost as if they were there to drive the story in one direction in an earlier draft which I found a little confusing. I enjoyed this book and will be keen to see what Louise Millar produces next.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here