Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
1,322
4.4 out of 5 stars
A Dangerous Fortune
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 March 2017
Alas,much to predictable & formulaic.
The same type of characters; the brave working clsss heroine, the caddish "upper class" man...
All the usual stock characters .
Despite that it was a fast moving story suitable to read on a flight or on the beach .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
This is a fast paced, plot driven novel that explores the themes associated with Ken Follett. We have the classic class divide, and the clash between the principled hero and weak slightly upper class villain, with the female lead playing the pivotal role. There is also the usual supporting cast who add colour, and help drive the narrative. If you enjoy Ken Follett's novels, this will not disappoint.
My main criticism of his characters is they are not sufficiently complex. Compare Tam Docherty in Mcillvanney's novel about the life of a mining community to Follett's portrayal Mac, also a miner, and the difference between plot and character is clear. Follett does portray life in a Scottish mining community, but not with the detail or colour of a McIllvanney, but who could?
The American episode reminded me of Dickens and Martin Chuzzlewit. This is an unfair comparison again, but the realities of life for settlers was surely more akin to Dickens and his descriptions than what we read in this book.
It is unfair to compare Ken Follett with two great novelists. This novel does achieve a compulsive read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
I like a novel that moves along at a steady pace and does not spend too much time on character building but paints enough of a picture to allow me to visualize each person.That is what I liked most.The story was absorbing and a highly enjoyable read.I would recommend it to those who enjoy novels with adventure and a sort of understated love interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2017
Extremely well crafted and a lesson to any budding writer on how to layer a protagonist's woes and challenges. The story itself is quite a simple tale but as always with Jen, it's the characters that carry the story that engage your interest from page one to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Brilliant tale about bankers in the 19th century who Id trust more than those of recent years..
Having actually an ancestor in the family in London working for a member of the doomed Baring bank family iat that time made me enjoy this all the more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
A most intriguing story with lots of twists and turns. Family life and greed playing a large part throughout. Banking evidently was the major factor behind many of the characters decisions. Found the book hard to put down. I thank the author for an exciting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Ken Follett always writes a good story and this is no exception. It had me hooked after reading the first few pages and introduced me to some old customs and practices I had no idea existed. So, well done Ken.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Since reading the century trilogy, I have yearned to read something as good. I have read the century trilogy 3 times and will probably read it again. This book didn't disappoint, I was immediately hooked and could not put it down until justice was served. Brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Have read all of his historical books and really enjoyed this one. Very tense in places with me willing the baddies to get their come-uppance and the goodies to prevail...which of course they don't until the very end. A really good read...highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
A great read. The antagonists were easy to dislike with their manipulative ways and yet the protagonists were also flawed, so much so that it wasn't always obvious who the reader should be rooting for.
Hugh and Maisie are very likable leads, it was easy to mentally scold them while still wishing them good luck.
Also gave an interesting and not too confusing look into the 19th century banking world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse