Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
A Point of View
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 September 2015
The short essays in this book are a joy. Clive James'unique voice comes through clearly and is full if his often tongue in cheek views on life and the world are still full of every human emotion they summon up. I even remember some of these from heaving heard them on the radio - that is how powerful is the impression he makes on people who love language and debate. He is one of the greats of writing and of broadcasting. I am such a fan! Just wonderful stuff Laugh and cry at will.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2016
There are flashes of his trademark wit and some real gems. However be prepared for a less fun ride than you would expect. He is, to my mind, far too obsessed with making points about certain bugbears of his- particularly climate change- which do render him guilty of grumpy status! However he can as always be extremely interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2015
We were lucky that Clive James turned his talents to TV reviews. Even if you can't remember the programme he is writing about his points are still relevant and interesting. I defy anyone to read his Wimbledon or Olympic reviews with anything approaching a straight face. A wonderful author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2013
The book consists of the scripts for Clive James's point of view broadcasts with some additional comments. I only managed to listen to some of the broadcasts and although his website does offer the chance to hear them all. Reading the scripts adds another dimension and adds to my appreciation of the many witty observations they contain. Take care if on public transport, I found it impossible not to burst out laughing as I read this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2015
Funny AND thought provoking. That's got to be good. Occasionally can't quite see the point he is trying to make but the prose flows very well and makes for easy reading. The postscripts are very welcome and add further food for tthought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2015
Clive James is just brilliant. I read this while I was travelling on holiday and it was exactly what I needed - well-thought out opinions on all sorts of topics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2012
Clive James writes so intelligently and wittily about every subject. He is interested in such a wide range of topics and always ready to revisit his earlier opinions if he has had further thoughts - he's genuinely open to experience. At one's fantasy dinner party he's one of the first guests, surely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2015
I have been reading Clive James for the best part of 30 years. He is the finest essay writer we have in the English language, and these broadcasts, in essay form, show he's still the master.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2015
If you missed these essays when they were broadcast, this is the perfect opportunity to catch up. The book includes the author's comments on the reaction that he received to the original broadcasts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2015
This book was bought as a Christmas present and was enthusiastically received. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse