Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
509
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2017
Just amazing, that one woman's cells are the 'eternal cells' that reproduces all the time. Because of this, doctors, scientists have been able to develop the polio vaccine, to help with cancer research, with cloning and gene mapping. The cells have even been on the moon to observe the reaction of human cells in space - the list goes on. Yet, her children live in dire poverty in America. A grave injustice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
I'm into medical facts, research and memoirs and this book has it all. Genetics and medicine are a part of my life as a patient/mother and this book gave me further knowledge and understanding. Well written and a good read if you like facts inside a true story. Also there is the history of how black people were treated legally(?) as less important in that era but not by all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
The fascinating story of Henrietta Lacks, whose cancerous cells were taken from her body and are still being used for research today. For anyone interested in medicine, science and/ or social divide, this is definitely for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
This was an amazing read, I was fascinated how Rebecca kept in touch with her challenge to find out about his woman and her back ground. Ive have always been interested in the progress of medical research and this was a real eye opener! Although taken medical law in America I could see how this is interpreted the world wide.
I had to tell everyone I was reading this book.
Well done Rebecca to bringing the history of HeLa cells to the general public.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Great book! This popped up on one of my lecturers reading lists for my nursing research class. I'd actually bought it prior to realising as the book just sounded fascinating. I wasn't disappointed. Great read about a wonderful woman
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
This book is the very definition of mixed feelings. Knowing that a poor black woman was exploited by the medical establishment, and that after her death her cells saved uncounted lives through medical advancements made possible by her cells is difficult to reconcile.

The science is fascinating, the sociology of it abhorrent, and I can only hope that her descendants will benefit from the profits made from the discoveries her cells enabled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Throughly enjoyed this book very informative and sad for the family to not have been informed at the beginning and also about their sister
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
A brilliant read. An interesting mix of human interest and science. Very well written and researched. I really enjoyed reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
After watching the film, I wanted to know more so bought the book what an amazing and heartbreaking story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
This is next on my list to read. Looking through it I am sure I will enjoy it very much. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)