Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
251
4.0 out of 5 stars
London Falling (Shadow Police)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 July 2017
Well maybe not 'ever' but certainly it's right up there. It is without any doubt the most ridiculous plot that I've read, one that had me constantly pausing to wonder why I was continuing to read it. The climatic final scene when the baby boiling witch meets mob justice really was the final straw, after that it was a quick skim just to find out where this nonsense ended up. Don't think I'll bother with the rest of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2017
It's hard to read without comparing it to Rivers of London. But where Rivers is fantasy, this is horror and where Rivers is Ars Magica this is Unknown Armies. Enjoyed it very much and about my only criticism is that the Epilogue feels a little tacked on. Will be picking up the next one after lunch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
I read and enjoyed this book some time back. Then I eventually read "The Severed Streets" and started to realise how much more there was to it, hence the re-read. This is a great Urban Gothic Police Procedural and I wonder if I should re-read "The Severed Streets" before going on to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
I wasn't sure if I would like this at first, it seemed a normal police story but then the strange stuff kicked in. It's like a supernatural Sweeney. Very original and very good. I will certainly read more by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Think ancient powers, think London, Witchcraft, Dark Powers, Sacrifice and West Ham Football Club...
Confused?
Think how the four coppers feel thrust into a world of magic underpinning London as they know it, and the crimes committed in its name unbeknownst to The Law...
Time to break some kneecaps boys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
First in the series of 3 so far. I have reviewed the other 2 more fully, but the series is a must buy. Put it on your bucket list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
A strange but believable tale. You have to read to the end. It even made me cry, not something I normally do!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
That's book has more turns then a roundabout, the amount of times I was just going to finish this chapter and the last line would shock me in to carrying on to the next was unbelievable. This book was so good I bought the next two in the series while only half way in
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2017
no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
Fast delivery, book as described, will use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse