Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 May 2017
Fantastic. Fastpaced action from the word go. What a brilliant read . Matthew Reilly is amazing. Jack West is a god.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2017
Great reading easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
Recommended to me by a friend and he was right. This is a great read and I'm now into the second book of the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
A fantastic first book in the Jack West series, Reilly takes you on a constant adventure in this enthralling novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
Predictable- a little boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
Just finished this. While completely unbelievable, it is an easy action romp with some interesting history thrown in. There is very little in the way of character exploration or development and the overuse of exclamation marks was a touch irritating. However, all in all, I did enjoy it - was easy to read and I enjoyed some of the historical aspects. I also liked the use of diagrams. Wouldn't be dying to read another Jack West but if was looking for an easy holiday read, would certainly consider it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2015
This is one of the most fun reads ever. It is an over the top, fast paced, action extravaganza packed with traps, tombs, plans and escapes. I love the way Matthew Reilly writes. This book is easy to read with non stop action that keeps you on the edge of your seat and If something goes boom he just writes "Boom!"

This book is simply pure escapism. I recommend you suspend your disbelief and just envelop yourself in the crazy situations and the epic action that is to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2010
If you have ever walked into a museum and felt the unquiet urge to smash an exhibit, then `Seven Ancient Wonders' may be the book for you as Matthew Reilly has written a book in which a group of adventurers do just this; but on a huge scale. Captain Jack West and his team are on the hunt for seven pieces of gold that are hidden in the seven ancient wonders. It is a race against the power mad Americans and Europeans. Like Reilly's other books, such as `Scarecrow' and `Area 7', `7 Wonder' borders on the insane. The action set pieces are ridiculous fun and contain more explosions and bonkers moments than with any other author. Whilst the like of Lee Child and Jack Higgins try to keep some semblance of rationality in their books - Reilly goes crazy. Breaking into the Louvre, Guantanamo Bay, flipping a double decker bus - nothing is OTT to this man.

The nature of Reilly's writing borders on the crass side. Short sentences are liberally peppered with explanation marks and direct references to the reader. Many people will find his style child like and unbearable, but I find it silly fun. Reilly has obviously chosen to ignore the snobbery that is `good writing' and instead created stories that almost read like a bloke down the pub telling a tall tail. The characters are paper thin, the storyline is ridiculous, but the action set pieces and sheer audacity of the author make is an entertaining read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2010
I have attempted to read Matthew Reilly's 'Scarecrow' in the past but had to give up fifty pages in, but decided to give him another chance.

I'm afraid to say it didn't past more than four pages. I just couldn't cope with the writing style at all. It's very bitty. With lots of short sentences that are hard to read and refuse to flow. The jilted feel just seems to be trying to force you to slow your reading down and to me its wrong to do that to your audience.

So I'm afraid that's the definitive end to my patronage of Reilly's works. I also note that this series, which initially appeared to be planned for a full seven novels, has been pulled back to just three. I like to think this shows that it's not just me who cannot stand it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse