Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
412
4.2 out of 5 stars
Great North Road
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 December 2015
A cross between a murder mystery and an alien hunt. The story has many layers that build as it goes along, with character back stories being drip fed in to provide detail at various points, but not too much so you keep guessing. It is long but I never felt it dragged, contrary to some other reviews. It is entertaining but not revolutionary. A good solid book, without being ground-breaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
As usual Peter F Hamilton delivers a complex and engrossing tale. His inventive imaginings of our future are epic in scale and yet he still weaves a cracking story of intrigue, murder and espionage. Yet another tour de force in his arsenal of Sci-fi greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
First congratulations to the publisher for setting this to a sensible price for an ebook. £2.40 made buying it a nobrainer. And I'm glad I did. Hamilton is a new author for me and after reading this I will be buying some more. I was a bit daunted at first by the length of this novel. I am not a great lover of epic tomes, but I was pleasently surprised. Hamilton kept my interest all the way through, it flagged a little now and again, and I can't help feel some pruning would have been an improvement, but on the whole it was very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
The book sets the scene early on and grabs you, it doesn't let you go until the end. Good pace with well thought out plot lines. Not your typical sci-fi, had a nice element of crime.

After reading this, I'm eager to check out other books by Peter F. Hamilton.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
JUST ANOTHER BRILLIANT BOOK BY THE UK BEST SCI_FI AUTHOR. It is a pity that this book is the last of the scifi genre for a while from Mr Hamilton. As ever, his attention to detail, just to the level of not quite explaining the science really makes for a fast flowing story. Whats more delivered over Amazon to my Kindle ( eink ) Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Crime, Fantasy, Space and Thriller all in one book. Based on Newcastle of the 25th century this is an absorbing read which can be difficult to put down at times. Even though it is 1,000 + pages long it never gets boring to read. Peter Hamilton switches regularly between different scenarios which keeps things interesting. A must buy for avid readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
It was a bit odd having Newcastle as the setting for a futuristic scifi novel, but it works well and gradually the story takes on a typical Hamilton multi-world spanning dimension. It was slow going at first, well worth it. There are familiar Hamilton concepts like wormhole travel and rejuvenation, even though this is set outside the universe of his other sagas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
If you like sci fi youll love this. One of his stand alone epics and most definitely his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Fantastic novel. Proper page turner, despite being over 1000 pages long. Only one quibble....do Geordies really say "Crap on that" as much as they do in this book?! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I liked this book, for lots of reasons, one was the attention to detail regarding streets and pace names, the other, the storyline, I don't want to give too much away, but I liked it. From a tech point of view, also quite interesting especially how people might communicate in the future as well as bio engineering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse