Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
126
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2010
If Baldacci's books were lined up, this would certainly be called a `filler'. In comparison with Stone, Annabelle, or Mace, I did not really enjoy Shaw in `The Whole Truth', and the truth is he doesn't make such a classic character in `Deliver us from evil'. Baldacci seems to be following the commercialism stream trailblazed by Patterson, coming out with quick books that whilst enjoyable at a surface level, are light on characters, detailed plot, or real suspense and thrills. This is a light-weight book from what was once called a `Master story-teller'.
33 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The faithful man has perished from the earth,
And there is no one upright among men.
They all lie in wait for blood;
Every man hunts his brother with a net.
That they may successfully do evil with both hands--
The prince asks for gifts,
The judge seeks a bribe,
And the great man utters his evil desire;
So they scheme together." -- Micah 7:2-3 (NKJV)

What's to be done with monsters? David Baldacci offers two alternatives in this book about eliminating evil: Leave them alone if they aren't harming you or erase them at any cost. He stacks the deck in favor of the latter solution.

If you are looking for a philosophical novel, this isn't it. The book's strength is its as compelling a portrayal of a horrifying villain as I remember in recent years. If you are a sensitive person, this book will upset you . . . as it's intended to do.

The portrayal of Evan Waller loses its punch in the book's second half, and the plot seems anemic without it. What happens is pretty predictable and not that satisfying.

Shaw, the main character from The Whole Truth, is portrayed in very superficial terms. He barely exists as a character aside from his guilt and skills.

Unless you are very devoted to reading David Baldacci's books, I think you could easily skip reading this one.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Evan Waller has built a fortune through his willingness to buy and sell anything to anyone. In the present, his activities have drawn the attention of the enigmatic Shaw (introduced in The Whole Truth) and the shadowy organisation he represents. At the same time, Waller's past has been investigated by a secret vigilante group based in the UK and their agent, Reggie Campion is also seeking him.

Independently of each other, and for very different reasons, Shaw and Campion arrive in a small village in Provence in pursuit of Waller. Both Shaw and Campion are encumbered by their pasts and while the Campion story is covered in this novel, relevant aspects of the Shaw story are in `The Whole Truth'. While you don't need to have read `The Whole Truth' to follow this story, the character of Shaw and his reactions will make more sense if you have.

This is fast-paced, not always believable fiction. There are some detailed scenes of torture and violence, which are not for the squeamish. These scenes serve to paint a detailed picture of the bad guys involved, just in case a reader needs additional reinforcement.

Overall, while I found this an interesting page-turning escapist read I didn't enjoy it as much as `The Whole Truth'.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
This is not his best, that's for sure. I am no academic and couldn't explain about depth, plot and character development. What I do now is that, overall, it was a pretty dull read. A couple of mistakes on his part (Goya's "2nd of May" painting was named as "3rd of May" and that Goya's "Maja Desnuda" was banned by the Spanish inquisition) made me suspect that Baldacci is having others write for him (???). If not, he is getting sloppy. I will not speculate about angry publishers, family problems or dead pets. This is one to avoid. If you already are a Baldacci fan, like myself, cross your fingers and hope that this is just a fluke. If you are new to Baldacci, read The Winner first to get a feeling for his kind of work.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Whereas the first Shaw/James book was excellent (I think co-written which might have enabled a second pair if eyes to tighten up the dialogue), this second Shaw/James story has very unbelievable conversations and story line. The bones of a good book are here but it is nowhere near as good as the first book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
This was a very good book. I do like DB. this is easy reading, also with a bit of intrigue.Of all David Baldacci's books, I really liked this one, of course, I like them all, otherwise I would not read them. It was a very satisfying ending I think all you 'crime' readers will agree. The characters are spot on, and very enjoyable to get to know, if that is the correct way of putting it.Do enjoy this book. I do not think you will be disappointed!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Not yet finished the book, his books always have a twist at the end, a bit like Agatha Christie, still think there are too many characters to remeber, especially when they go by different names in parts of the story, but good easy reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
Baldacci has created this sequel to 'The Whole Truth' focusing once more on the Shaw character who even in the first novel wasn't especially interesting but here the implausibility reaches new heights. Shaw is assigned to find out the details of a Russian-born Canadian oligarch, Evan Waller, only to find that Waller is already being hunted by a mysterious organisation which is tracking down 'war criminals' and exacting vengeance.

Whilst the plot is fairly novel, the novel feels like it could have been significantly better edited. There is far too much superfluous description in several of the chapters, and although the plot does move along at a fair pace, nothing about the eventual denouement came as a significant surprise. For me, Baldacci's earlier works such as 'The Winner' and 'Absolute Power' would be more worthwhile and interesting for those unfamiliar with his work. One for enthusiasts only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
DELIVER US FROM EVIL is definitely not a novel for the faint-hearted. Some of the scenes were positively gruesome but I suppose necessary to convey the true evil of the character known as Canadian businessman Evan Waller. This man relives his violent and malignant past in a safe room located in his Montreal apartment while viewing movies of the atrocities he committed in his previous incarnation as member of the Russian KGB,Fedir Kuchen. Waller is a sadistic soul who is still practicing his own particular brand of brutality on those who cross him.....and the graphic descriptions of his methods are enough to make your stomach churn, hence my warning at the beginning of this review. He has amassed great wealth by dealing in every filthy endeavor known to man. (Think an amalgamation of Adolph Hitler, Joseph Mengele, the Spanish Inquistion, Kaiser Soze in the Usual Suspects with maybe just a dash of George Soros).

Hot on his trail, but for different reasons, are Shaw the ruggedly handsome and tough but intelligent operative who works for an organization never really identified in the book and Regina (Reggie) Campion, beautiful, seductive agent with a personal agenda for seeking to rid the world of war criminals. (Both organizations come across as vigilante groups.)

While the overall story has plenty of twists and turns the story really is mediocre. I believe it is fair to say that one keeps reading not because of the literary value of the book but rather because it appeals to the voyeuristic tendencies most of us possess. It's sort of like watching someone being gored by a raging bull, you are horrified but you can't tear your eyes away. You have been warned, so proceed at your own risk. 2 1/2 stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I'm a big fan of David Baldacci. He never fails to grab my interest with a well written absorbing plot and carefully delineated characters. Shaw is despatched to Provence to track down an ex KGB officer, notorious for atrocities. Indeed we get a flavour of what he was capable of when, as his alter ego Evan Waller, he encounters the last Afghan involved in a plot to blow him up. (Not for the faint hearted this bit!) Shaw's relationship as Bill Young with Jane Collins who is really Reggie is a bit wooden but then he and she are both not what they seem to each other. I recommend this to any Baldacci fans and any one who is keen on adventure stories but has yet to try his work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.