Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 April 2015
A well written book and an entertaining read. The TV cook who started it all. Having watched most of his programmes at the time it was fascinating to read his account of what was going on " behind the scenes ", both the good and the bad. Very poignant to finish with the documentary called "when Keith met Keith " when Floyd was clearly unwell, and died shortly afterwards. Thoroughly recommend this book, which has lighter and funny moments as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2015
I am enjoying this book very much. It is a lovely structure, as if you are sitting with Keith in a bar with a pastis and he is running over his life history. Jumps here and there through time as he recalls little anecdotes. Many interesting insights about his young life that reveal much about his tastes in food. The ghost writer has done a great job, I can certainly hear Keith. So glad we have this account. Rest in Peace Chef.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2013
A bitter sweet book in which Floyd reflects on the events of his past in his later years. Interesting insight into the way in which exploitation of the nicer side of Floyd seems to have taken place. A good read for those sympathetic to this talented if rather quirky personality and presenter that due to the passage of time, fashion and technology is unlikely to be replaced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2015
What a life this man led. It has made me pick up my dusty Kindle and fall in love with it all over again. Reading this, watching Floyd on France and Rick Stein's "Under a Makerel Sky" consecutively was fascinating. It was interesting to read the other sides of the stories and to read his interpretation of the scenes we know from the TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2013
Keith Floyd had the true chef's knack of great timing. He happened to start cooking commercially in Bristol ahead of the "New Wave" of TV celebrity chefs at a time when Bristol was full of BBC programme-makers looking for new characters and ideas. So all the menu items were there for what followed, with "Floydy" as the secret ingredient to recreate the distinctive flavour of cooking-to-camera. In picking up (by Floyd's own admission) the mantle of The Galloping Gourmet Graham Kerr, Keith re-set the template for the next twenty years through Rick Stein and Antonio Carluccio to Gordon Ramsey and Jamie Oliver. So plenty to thank him for (and plenty to blame him for too!). And after a roller-coaster twenty year career in and out of the spotlight, Floydy eventually sets about putting it all down in writing and then promptly dies as soon as his ghosted autobiography is finished. But if he had a talent for timing, there were many other areas of life where he was less than proficient, including financial management, judging people's characters, sustaining relationships, etc, etc. Every time the author picks himself up off the kitchen floor, you know it won't be long before he's flat on his face again. He claims his trade-mark glass of red wine was a mere stage prop, but booze seems to have been the key part of his regular downfalls. The dominant flavours of this book are the author's charm and charisma which mean you are always on his side as he goes through business failures, divorces, bankruptcy, loneliness and finally illness. There's a genuine sense of loss at the end, and a feeling that we all should have appreciated Floydy a bit more when we had the chance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2014
Like thousands of other people worldwide I came to like the cheeky chappie who cooked anywhere and everywhere, glass or bottle at hand for a 'slurp' making me watch a type of programme I would never watch usually, a cooking programme. His on screen persona was carefree and mainly jolly mixing with practically anyone no matter who they were. But having read his book I look on him a bit differently now with mixed feelings at how callous he was, especially regarding his wives, of course he was brave enough to put all his thoughts down whilst being very ill but at times I found it uncomfortable reading of the cheeky chappie.

His talent was never in doubt he made people sit up and take notice of food and the cooking of food but he seemed an impatient and at times and impertinent person and having achieved stardom seemed selfish in pursuing that lifestyle whilst still purporting to be the boy next door. The only people who never seemed to occur his wrath were his rugby playing mates and although he admits to neglecting his children during their formative years, again being away in some far flung place, he found comfort in the bottle rather than actually trying with his wives to make a marriage work.

Of course his is not here now to defend such accusations and of course I have never tasted his exotic lifestyle but from his own words he was not the Floydy of the TV screen in real life a fact people tended to forget, and when he did get time to sit back and enjoy the fruit's of his success he couldn't he wanted to be back out there to help with the never ending money problems he had throughout life, he seems to have found some resemblance of peace towards the end of his life. But of him, we have the same birthday by the way, after reading his book I am still a fan, but slightly less so.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2014
If you're a fan of Keith Floyd and his cookery programmes, this is a must-read. But even if you're not, this is a fascinating and brutally honest autobiography. Modern autobiographies and biographers could learn a thing or two from this superb read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2011
Yes the story does jump around a little..did'nt Keith Floyd.
It is a compulsive story of endeavour, success, silliness and sadness,
and it all seems very real.
If you are a Floyd fan it is a must. Read it anyway...it will make you
laugh out loud and quietly cry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2013
I really enjoyed the naked honesty of this book.It is a true "warts & all" autobiography which makes no excuses but says "this was how I was". He was a one off and a real character. They don't seem to make them like that any more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2013
In this very honest biog Floyd comes across as a simple generous soul. He almost admits that he is his own worst enemy. His naivety in business matters and his hedonistic proclivities contribute to a miserable late life and an early death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)