Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
72
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 October 2013
Oh my. This has to be one of the greatest short novels of all time. This is nearly as good as the longer-form Blood Meridian. And that's saying something. This is a raw, compressed, black masterpiece. It bubbles with power and darkness, and drips with menace like the water in the caves in which Lester Ballard eventually comes to subsist. There are beautiful contrasts here: homely neighbourly chats, disputes about payment, toys at the fair, interspersed with ever increasing swatches of horror. A brilliant brilliant little book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This is a powerful and dark tale, simply and evocatively written that plays with the reader's emotions. Whilst some of the acts are depraved and reprehensible there is a sadness and loneliness to Lester Ballard, in that he seems to have been on the losing side from the start and that it has always been an uphill battle. He is a disturbed man with twisted tendencies but acts, such as the winning of, and then cherishing of, the cuddly toys from the fair, suggest it could all have been different but for a little love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
Another thoroughly engaging book from McCarthy. Short, disturbing and challenging. A little lighter than The Road. Use of language is always creative and each chapter reads like a short story even if its just 2 pages long.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
This book is so short and therefore I read it very quickly. I enjoyed the story line so much better than "All the pretty horses".
The only thing that would have made this book better for me is if the story concentrated more on the main character and his "business" rather than switching between other characters thoughts and anecdotes.
A good story that'll make you want to finish it in one helping :0))
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
Child of God seems more intent on shocking than building a character. Its effectively a third person diary from the protagonist, this isnt a bad thing though, its very easy to read, you'll get through it in a couple of hours and you wont regret reading it. maybe its too short, im not sure. a;; i can say is that its definitely worth a read but dont expect to be blown away
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
I can honestly say I've never read anyone better when it comes to using the English language. Every sentence is a feast of evocative imagery and toe curling action.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This is only the second Cormac McCarthy novel I have read, but I see the themes that make the stories so involving. The script is pared back and tough. Just a marvellous storyteller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Incredible work from Cormac McCarthy. Extremely dark and the narrative is great. Short chapters which you'll find you'll keep going to the next one and finish the book very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
If you like Cormac McCarthy, this is a great book, written in his usual original style, but it's got to be said that it's also a tragic, violent and disturbing story...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
One of McCarthy's best I think, but too short. I read it the same day I got in in the mail. Really fun. Scary, shocking, all you could ask for if you are a Cormac fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£9.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.