Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2015
I was very surprised at this book. The fourth book in this series was such a disappointment that I was not holding out much hope for this one. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the renewed level of cleverness that Douglas Adams was able to weave into the plot. It wraps up the series pretty nicely as the characters come full circle. There are recognisable characters and creatures from earlier in the series and I feel like this book was a decent note to end the series on. That being said, it is in no way as good as the first two or three and I would only recommend that you read this if you have read the travesty that is the fourth book and want to renew your faith in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2010
I've been a fan of Douglas Adams for over 25 years after discovering the origional trilogy whilst holidaying in Bulgaria....hand towel included.
I have read all the books time and time again and still love them so I thought I would give the audio books ago. Martin Freeman is great even if he does seem to spend the first couple of CD's warming up to the role of storey teller. I have them all downloaded to my PC, phone and ipod so when ever a boring 5 minutes or couple of hours present themselves I can plug in and smile may through a couple of chapters or more.
Buy all of them and enjoy them again and again even if its just so you can sit there in silence grinning like a loon on the rush hour train to work, making everybody else slightly nervous around you as no one knows how to deal with someone smiling on a train that time of the morning. Who knows you may end up with a couple of seats to yourself!!!!!!!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Part of the "hoitchhikers guide to the galaxy" series.not quite as good as the others, Adams see to be struggling to be funny. But nevertheless a good read/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Douglas Adams created a group of characters which have gone on to become a cult. I've read the books, listened to the Radio series (on CD), watched the TV series ( not very good ), went to the cinema to see the film and still found Adams' work to be fresh today as it was all those year's ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
It's still Douglas Adams. It's still Arthur Dent. It's still Hitchhikers guide. But... it's missing something. It just seems the others were a bit more put together. This one is a bit random and not in the good way the others are. Still an alright read, but not excellent like the rest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Excellent conclusion to the 5-part trilogy. But **spoiler alert** This edition contains a foreword that alludes to the ending and it doesn't take a genius to work through the subtlety and guess how things end up. So just turn straight to the story and enjoy the late Douglas Adam's incredibly boundless imagination and endless fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
I've really enjoyed the Hitchhikers series, and this was a pleasant enough end to the 'trilogy'. It doesn't even come close to the brilliance of the earlier books, which is why it doesn't score higher, but if you've read and enjoyed the previous titles there's nothing to fear here. Hovered between a 3 and 4 star rating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Read a few times. The more I read the stores, the more I think Adams was a genius. If you think about work and every day situations, the quirky aliens remind more of real life people I've meet ( bankers, politicians, and other people who don't seem to be in touch with real life and reality ).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Due to: editorial constraints, legal issues, focus groups, the committee for political correctness and religious tolerance,,,, the 640 page review I wrote for this book containing academic wit and trans-tertiary verbosity of the highest quality has been cut to the following: Mostly harmless.

He gets a star off for having died before writing the follow-up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse