Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Effective Leadership (NEW REVISED EDITION): How to be a successful leader
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 July 2013
I was weaned on John Adair in the 1980s and think the model of Task, Team and Individual is still relevant today especially for those entering a leadership role. Yes, there are more sophisticated models that have emerged, but Adair's Model is the one that people tend to remember and, therefore, it is genuinely useful and is more likely to be applied in real life situations. So the apparently basic nature of the Adair Model in this book makes up for the fact it isn't the latest "HD" insight into leadership. The other side of the coin is that more sophisticated models may offer an "HD picture" in terms of capturing the deeper nuances of leadership but, in the field, will the extra detail be recalled and therefore can/will these more sophisticated models be readily applied? I may be becoming dated, but I see this book and the Adair Model as still being highly relevant especially for emerging leaders. Recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Adair underpins a number of leadership theories. It's best to read it from the horse's mouth so to speak.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
John Adair book was an huge help for me on this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
John Adair knows his stuff and is always worth reading when he writes about leadership. He has a grasp of the subject and its subtleties that few can match.

However... there is a "but". His other writings (e.g. Not Bosses But Leaders) reveal his more nuanced view of leadership, but he hasn't updated his basic three circles model since the 1980s. Meanwhile the importance of authentic leadership has grown and the search for a more psychological model to support a leader's character development has become more urgent. This is where this fine book is showing its age in my view.

Where can you find something that builds on but goes further than Adair's thinking? You could try a newer book like James Scouller's "The Three Levels of Leadership". He accepts Adair's three elements of Task + Group + Individual but adds a fourth (Motivating Purpose) to give equal weighting to vision. More important, his model tackles the psychological aspect of leadership full on in a clear, practical way.

Do I recommend you buy this book? Yes, definitely. All I'm saying is that time has marched on and John Adair's thinking has, in my view, got to be partnered up with more recent writings to gain a fuller view of leadership.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
If you are new to the process of professional leadership training this is a very useful book. Many of the modern 'gurus' quote Adair. It serves as a foundation for other training systems by introducing a method that is simple and practical.

If you have never had to do this type of thing before his simple style and direct manner of communication, with simple exercises and virtually jargonless psycho-bable free approach acts as an excellent introduction.

Highly reccomended due to its simplicity.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
This book has an unmistakable wisdom that Is rare to find. Effective leadership is masterfully written and supported by rational and sustained argument throughout. I would call this essential reading for people who work professionally in teams and for anybody who wants to wisen up to life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
John Adair is a good author to read. He has an in depth knowledge of the subject. He makes it interesting and it is easy to read and understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
I bought this book as part of my reading for an assignment on Leadership. John Adair has a number of books on Leadership and while this book isn't a comprehensive guide to leadership it is a good summary of leadership skills and qualities.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
As we get more and more articles (often pimped on LinkedIn) with titles like "the one thing all managers must do" or "three things leaders must never do", it's refreshing to read a book on leadership that systematically and realistically challenges us to question and improve our own leadership performance. It's easy to but will stay with you long after you put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)