Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

'People who are psychopathic prey ruthlessly on others using charm, deceit, violence or other methods that allow them to get what they want. The symptoms of psychopathy include: lack of a conscience or sense of guilt, lack of empathy, egocentricity, pathological lying, repeated violations of social norms, disregard for the law, shallow emotions, and a history of victimizing others.'
- Robert Hare, Ph.D

I've been hooked on Jon Ronson's writing since 'The Men Who Stare at Goats' was first published. Ronson cuts right to the heart of important topics by having the guts to ask the difficult questions. His literary style is equal parts journalistic rigour, deep compassion and incisive observational humour that often shines the light of ridicule on darker human behaviours. 'The Psychopath Test' explores psychiatry, psychopathology, medication and incarceration of 'dangerous' individuals. The book reads like a mystery novel, which - driven by Ronson's compelling prose - makes it difficult to put down.

The story begins with a meeting between Ronson and a history student who has received a cryptic book called 'Being or Nothingness' in the mail. The same book has been received by several individuals around the globe, most of whom work in the field of psychiatry. The book contains 42 pages, every second one blank. (This made me 'The Hitch-hiker's Guide to the Galaxy', the ultimate answer to life, the Universe and Everything was 42. Was this relevant? Was the mysterious author of 'Being or Nothingness' implying that his cryptic messages, if decoded, could lead to enlightenment?)

Ronson's journey leads him to 'Tony' in Broadmoor, who - when charged with GBH and facing prison 12 years earlier - had faked insanity in the hope of being sent to a comfortable psychiatric hospital. Instead, he had been sent to Broadmoor high-security psychiatric hospital (home to Britain's most dangerous psychotic prisoners), where he was being held indefinitely. Tony explains that he had picked characteristics of various movie lunatics then pieced them together into his 'insane' persona. Getting into Broadmoor had been easy, but getting out was proving immeasurably harder. A senior psychiatrist admits to knowing that Tony isn't insane, as a truly insane person wouldn't manufacture a new personality in the hope of avoiding prison...but a manipulative psychopath would.

Ronson meets Bob Hare, creator of the PCL-R Test, a 20-step Psychopath Checklist which gives individuals scores between zero and forty; the higher the score, the more psychopathic the person. Hare reveals that inmates at prisons and psychiatric institutions aren't the only ones who score highly on his 'psychopath test': many CEOs and directors of corporations qualify as psychopaths too. This prompts Ronson to wonder 'if sometimes the difference between a psychopath in Broadmoor and a psychopath on Wall Street was the luck of being born into a stable, rich family.'

Al Dunlap closed Shubuta's Sunbeam factory (the economic heart of that community), showing no empathy while firing workers and effectively killing the town. While laying off employees, he even spouted jokes such as, "You may have a sports car, but I'll tell you what you don't have. A job!" Bob Hare flags Dunlap as a psychopath, so Ronson sets out to meet the man. When Ronson asks probing questions based on the PCL-R checklist, Dunlap's responses mark him as a textbook psychopath.

Hare explains the science of psychopathology: a part of the brain called the amygdala doesn't function in psychopaths as it does in other human beings. When a regular person experiences extreme violence or carnage (or even photographs of such scenes), his amygdala becomes overstimulated, provoking an extreme anxiety response in the central nervous system. When a psychopath experiences the same stimuli, his amygdala does not respond: no anxiety response occurs. This explains the psychopath's lack of empathy.

'The Psychopath Test' is a compelling read. Ronson's fluid style is the perfect balance of rigorous research, keen observation, poignancy and humour. Congratulations to Jon Ronson on another phenomenal achievement.
1313 comments| 258 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2011
This is a great read, witty and peppered with amusing self-deprecating excursions. I couldn't put it down - but only a small part of it concerns 'psychopaths'. It also seems that Jon Ronson hasn't quite got his head around the concept of psychopathy/sociopathy, and this is more than a shame - it's a little dangerous.

We start with a mysterious publication that leads Ronson to a neuroscientist who piques his interest in psychopathy. Then we go to someone who is classified as a psychopath but may not be; then to the Hare Psychopathy checklist and a ramble through ways of treating psychopaths in the past. Next step a shallow look at a corporate psychopath...but then it all comes a bit unstuck. We get an account of the unfeeling selection process for reality TV shows; the exceedingly strange behaviour of whistleblower David Shayler; and other stuff that doesn't really relate to the title of the book, or even the critique of psychiatry. If he'd stuck to the topic it would have been excellent. As it is, it really was a fascinating read, but the grasshopper approach to the subject matter seriously detracts from it as an informed study. 3.5 out of 5!
22 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
A friend who studies psychology recommended this book to me knowing that I've long fostered an interest in psychology. For me, therefore, the book was perfect - having no academic grounding in psychology, I would probably struggle with an academic paper on psychopaths, but I found this book to be very well pitched to the masses. It was as light and accessible as a book with such a serious and delicate subject matter could be.

I have always been fascinated by psychopathy and psychological illness more generally, and it really catered to that interest, with original and intriguing material - a real page turner, which I find is rare in books with a 'heavy' subject. However, even if psychology isn't really your bag, Ronson's style and approach makes it a compelling read, and you'll find yourself freaking out your friends and family with 'so unbelievable it has to be true' type stories for ages.

My only criticism is that I suppose I would have liked him to delve a little deeper, analyse a little more - he frequently touches on the question of whether psychopathy, and other mental illnesses, are simply labels thrust by society onto individuals who don't fit the mould, but he never seems to say anything very solid on the matter. I'd also have liked to have read more case studies of less 'extreme' psychopaths - he seems to go for fairly high profile ones, but claims (I think) that 1/100 people are now considered psychopathic, and I assume (hope!) not all of these are homicidal rapists!

Despite these criticisms, I realise that the book is intended to be a 'popular' read, not an in depth analysis of psychopaths, and indeed Ronson makes it clear that he is in no position to provide such an analysis. This in mind, the book is really fantastic, and I'd recommend it to just about anyone.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
A book about more than the title suggests, but also delivers slightly less than l hoped. It mostly tracks the authors own journey through the subject matter-very much in his usual style. Left me sure l wasn't a psychopath but certain at least one colleague was. Great as a weekend or holiday read but not a serious look at the subject of psycopathy. Also worthy gift for an ex wife or colleague you would prefer to estrange permanently.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
First thing to say is that this is very Jon Ronson - if you don't like his journalistic, quite anecdotal, interview-heavy style, you won't like it. I, however, enjoyed his attempts to get the nub of what Psychopaths are and how Society can deal with them.

He gets to inverview some really interesting as well as important figures in the field, and his various digressions are always relevant and valuable. The chatty style doesn't obscure the fact he's really done his homework. In particular, he's really good on the tale of how professional rivalries and experimental treatments by various psychologists since the early 20th Century haven't always been to the benefit of a better public understanding of the condition, or better treatment of it.

His particular focus is the now almost universally used testing criteria for Psychopaths, which turns out to be not as perfect as you might hope considering a positive result can see people incarcerated for large portions of their life. He also investigates how 'Psychopathic' traits can actually be seen in many people who are successful in various fields and have never been involved in any violent crime. There's ultimately a suggestion here that the most terrifying thing about Psychopaths is that they're really not as different from us as we'd like to think, and it is quite possible that your neighbour, boss, political representative, or local policeman (psychopaths, it turns out, love jobs which give them positions of authority) could well be one.

Despite the troubling revelations here, it isn't a sensationalist book trading off shock value. Ronsons tries to understand the condition, which includes spending lots of time and in some cases getting uncomfortably close to diagnosed Psychopaths, and he is always open to dissenting voices. This is a book for the general reader rather than anyone with a professional interest in the topic, of course, but for all that it raises some really interesting questions and gives a better understanding of a topic which effects us as individuals and a society more than we might like to think.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Jon Ronson's amiable account of identifying psychopaths is the scientific equivalent of easy listening. He sets out an ambitious goal - identifying who is a psychopath - and fails to deliver an answer. The unconvincing evidence is that the Hare Test, used widely in diagnosing the condition is just another misused metric pushed by the pharma industry so they can develop drugs.

it is a meandering, lazy account, charmingly delivered. But he comes out at the end as a sceptic of all classifications of mental illness with the ridiculous conclusion that because it is difficult and perilous to classify, it is a waste of time. we are all flawed. He concludes that the explosion of autism diagnosis is typical and irresponsible. As the parent of an Asperger's boy, I can tell Jon, he isn't just a tad different. Without his diagnosis, there is no help at all provided. So PC thinking like this is more than irresponsible, it is downright dangerous.

A bit seductive, but a failure.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 April 2011
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Jon Ronson's latest book seems to follow the meandering path of "Them: Adventures with Extremists", as he meets and talks to what appear to be diverse and unrelated, but all fascinating, people at the fringes of society or the fringes of normal behaviour. In this case he's looking at various aspects of what he calls "the madness industry". Although sweeping and scattershot at first glance, concentrating on the amusing and odd, what emerges is a well balanced book that raises serious and focused questions about how we recognise and deal with "madness" in society.

Ronson is remarkably open and relatively non-judgmental in his approach. He rightly finds issue with the current and disturbing trend of over-diagnosis in psychiatry (the rate of rise in the number of children in the USA with "mental illness" is frightening until you realise it's simply the result of a new diagnosis, not new illness) while also being harsh on the other extreme, opponents of any form of psychiatry such as the Scientologists. In a key part of the book, Ronson comments on a Scientology leader laughing at the idea of giving children drugs to stop them picking their nose, which would be a ridiculous thing to do until you realise the children in question were picking their nose so violently and so frequently they produced deep wounds allowing facial bones to show through.

There's much discussion of the psychopathic personality especially the observation that psychopaths are unable to understand that other people have thoughts, feelings and rights. While clearly this personality defect is present in a number of serious criminals, Ronson delves into the realm of corporate pyschopaths too. Not being able to understand that other people have feelings, let alone caring about those feelings, is a rather useful trait if your job is CEO of a company saving money by cutting jobs. Amusingly Ronson also sees psychopathic traits in AA Gill, mainly because he gives bad reviews of Ronson's TV shows - something that may not change if Gill reads the book!

The book is perhaps strongest on how we use "madness" in entertainment and how little we've moved from the pre-Victorian organised tours of asylums for amusement. Ronson describes the callous and deliberate way people are selected to go onto the daytime Jeremy Kylie-style TV shows as well as the new type of talent show that glories in the early "eccentric" and terrible auditions, the people selected being far from mentally stable and yet not so unstable they would be off putting to the baying audience. Likewise Ronson describes the sad story of David Shayler: in demand on radio and TV when he was just irrational enough to be a "9/11 truther", talking about holographic planes around cruise missiles hitting the World Trade Centre, but kept well away from the media spotlight when he continued to slide into more serious illness and proclaimed himself the second coming of Jesus.

Ronson has written a funny, and simultaneously serious, book. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Jon Ronson's book is a witty and informative journey through psychoanalysis. It shows a system that labels and controls abnormal behaviour, some of it dangerous and some of it merely eccentric. Fascinating and funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Jon Ronson tackles the subject in a clear and entertaining manner. I read the entire book in just two sittings as the content was so gripping and insightful. The big question for me after reading the book is how many people operating at a high level within the commercial world are psychopaths. Read the book if you want to learn to spot them. (Also consider ordering Bob Hare's book 'Snakes in Suits' at the same time, as you may well be working for one.)
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I like Jon Ronson's style of writing. To some extent this book reminds me of K-Pax and the exploration of the construct of madness in today's society and the writings of Thomas Szasz who is an eminent psychiatrist of the 20th century who is now pretty much anti-psychiatry.

I felt that this book at times was a little too journalistic almost with an eye to it becoming a documentary or film. At times the narrative got bogged down and I don't think he had much of an idea at times of where various themes and ideas were going to take him. That said it didn't stop me enjoying it.

Madness became a medical industry during the twentieth century with Doctors who went into psychiatry on the whole wanting to show that madness could be cured and also claim equivalent status to there more revered general medical rivals and colleagues. The wanting to cure mental illness is a laudable and noble ideal on the whole, however, the brutal fact is that with all the advancements in drugs over the last fifty years the "cure" rate is still no better than the 1930's - although I'm sure that some doctors would immediately state that that is not true.

What is true is that the major beneficiary of the use of the latest cure for madness is the pharmaceutical industry. Over 40% of the drug bill incurred by the NHS is for medication to treat mental illness. The cost of maintaining an individual on clozaril for example could be as much as £2-3k a month and that's just the drug cost and it's given no questions asked - there doesn't appear to be a postcode lottery for drugs to treat mental illness.

Psychopaths, which are the population the book centres upon, are the least understood. There is a whole gamut of personality disorder diagnosis's out there that are considered untreatable and need therefore to be contained in order to keep society safe. What is disturbing about the book is the arbitrary ability of society to effectively take out of circulation those that it perceives as dangerous and it's using arbitrary ill framed definitions of `what is normal' to weed out those it believes shouldn't be a part of society.

A few things may seem farfetched, however, after working in a secure psychiatric unit for a number of years (you have to trust me on this) it's not that far from the truth.

A good and thoughtful book well worth the money.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse