Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 11 June 2012
Very entertaining and thought provoking. I work in the mental health field and also have concerns about therapists of any type being part of the problem not the solution. My first Jon Ronson book and now looking forward to reading the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2013
...for someone who knows nothing about psychopaths.. It seems to be very hard for scientists to successfully identify people who are truly mentally ill. The book shows many such examples from a journalist's perspective. Interesting to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2015
Great book! Really not that long, I read it in 5 and a bit hours, but ever since reading it, psychopathy has fascinated me and it really opens your eyes to the reality of psychopaths instead of the Hollywood deception. Would really recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2013
I found this book an excellent read. It was very thought provoking and gave me an insight to a world that I did not know existed. It did however, make me worry that the system we have for mental health problems is weak and very hit and miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2013
recommended to anyone interested in psychology, and anything to do with the human mind.
this book in fascinating in its range and depth. knowledge is passed on without information overload through a sense of humour.
a great read~
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2013
Not as funny as other reviewers make it out but still very good - very compelling. Turns out that it's that it's frighteningly easy to be declared mentally ill but frighteningly difficult to return to sanity in the eyes of a psychiatrist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
Ronson's exploration includes profiles and interview of various people who meet the psychopath criteria, and this is more developed than explorations or theories about psycopathy itself. It includes the test itself, which may be useful!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2012
It's a genuinely excellent piece of investigative journalism which (successfully) passes itself off as comedy. 'Jonalism' at it's finest. Much imitated but never surpassed. By him, as well as his imitators. Five stars without question.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
I did like enjoy reading this but at the end felt like it was missing something. Not sure what I was expecting but felt it lacked closure somehow. Quite like the style and how history/science are presented in an entertaining way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2016
Amazing insight into the mind of sociopathic narcissistic individual in all walks of life. Allows the reader to hold a mirror up and ask the question about their own behaviour and social interactions. A really worthy read! 5*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse