Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2015
as a fan of historical fiction I really loved this book. I have read the trilogy already some 10 years ago but reading it again I enjoyed it all over again.
the first chapter tells the story of young Alexander, how he grew up being teached by his father Philippus who already was a great conqueror himself but in the end couldn't maintain the reunion with the Greek states.
Alexander himself was thought values of Aristotle himself and you really can see how he develops as a charracter from a smart and young boy into an intelligent and also sometimes conqueror without any mercy.
a must read for fans of historical fiction and ancient Greece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
After purchasing the first volume in a charity shop(for 60p), I couldn't help going on Amazon to get the sequels. However, whereas my first volume was the size of my hand - easy to carry around, the sequels are about twice as large in size. The larger size books have larger font, making them more user friendly to very young or elderly readers, but they are too big to carry around with you really, plus they probably won't fit on your bookshelf, unless it has sufficient height to accommodate a large book. Lesson: look for the smaller size version. ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Much enamoured by the most faithful account of what actually happened that I have ever read and look forward with delight to the next two volumes. Thankyou
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
I found this book (aswell as the other two in the trilogy) to be one of the best books i have read on the subject of alexander of macedon. From my point of view the goodness that comes from this book is simply that the writer has not tried to add anything too much to a story that is simply brilliant by itself. This book truly made me awe inspired by alexander and his achievements.
In conclusion that in the writing this book mr manfredi has remained a true historian and told a great story of the ages that does not need artisitic flair to be made readable!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2008
This is the first in the excellent Alexander set. This sets you up to understand the world, family and the man himself. Whether you believe him to be a tyrant or a hero, this set of books gives you an epic and entertaining look into one of the most amazing times in ancient history. Once again an amazing blend of fact and fiction that you cannot put down. A must have trilogy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
This was a superb read!
It brings to life the actions of one of the greatest leaders of all time whilst maintaining a good degree of historical accuracy.
The book shows the difficulties faced by the young Alexander prior to and shortly after his accession to the throne brilliantly amidst Philip of Macedon's attempts to unite the Greeks.
Roll on volume 2!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2001
A historical character that is fascinating and mesmeric. However although I could not leave the book alone it did not really involve me, it left me feeling I was missing something - a little unsatisfied. It is well written & is well worth the read. I am looking forward to book three. 2 was significantly better than 1, so hopefully 3 will continue the pattern.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2001
Always having an intrest in ancient Greece I picked up this book for a light read. What I discovred was a book full of adventure, intrigue and pure excitment. As a fan of the works of Stephen Pressfield I was surprised at the sheer detail in this book. Not since Bernard Cornwell's novels of Arthur have I so much anticipated the sequel. Buy this book!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
I picked this one up at a local book store and read through it one session. It's a very easy and enjoyable read and even if you don't know exacly what is fact and what is ficion, you can't help but to feel that you know a lot more about Alexander and this Macedonian period in Greek history. And Philip is a class A brute. Can't wait for number two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
This audiobook of Valerio Massimo Manfredi's "Alexander: Child of a Dream" was abridged by Keith Darvill to a 3 hour story recorded on 3 CDs and it's read by Derek Jacobi. It's the first volume of a trilogy: 1) Child of a Dream, 2) The Sands of Ammon, 3) The Ends of the Earth. I enjoyed Derek Jacobi's reading of 'Child of a Dream' so much that I intend to buy the rest of the trilogy.
The young Alexander, privileged product of a mating between a rich and powerful king, a beautiful and clever queen and (the queen believed) a god, seemed a very pleasant and caring youth, considering all the slaughter and mayhem he ordered and participated in as he grew and matured. His mother, Olympias, was an ambitious, ruthless dabbler in ritual and magic. His father, Philip, was King of Macedon, wise in military matters, a great warrior and leader of his people - fighting to unite all the Greek nations. His sister, Cleopatra, married her mother's brother (another Alexander). His tutor, Aristotle, later became the detective and, with the help of his nephew, investigated the murder of King Philip.
This book covers the period when the child grows to young adulthood showing every sign of being intelligent and physically fit and strong. He masters whatever he turns his hand to (including taming an angry wild stallion just by talking to it and running alongside it for some distance), commands loyalty from his friends and is loyal in return. He becomes an excellent and respected leader and a clever military tactician. As this part of the trilogy ends, he is about to invade Asia.
The satisfying thing about this sort of novel is that you can learn something at the same time as you're being entertained. I had to get out an atlas to find out where the characters were marching and where the action was taking place. It would have been better if a map of the area had been included with the audiobook. There was a map of Middle Earth in the BBC's Lord of the Rings radio play CD box, so I know it sometimes happens. In any case, I had an atlas fortunately and was able to follow the action across page 38.
I recommend this audiobook.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here