Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 26 July 2011
overall the book was good the story line was good and so were the battle scenes but whilst readin it i wasnt made to feel how it was to be a spartan or fight against them unlike the books from mr scarrow or mr iliffe who have an uncanny knack of drawing you in and help you to feel every swing of the sword or block with the shield.its not the best ancient greek book ive read but still worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 July 2003
Wonderfully written, hugely evocative tale of heroism, war and betrayal. Focusing on the savage, martial Spartans (by far the most facinating of the ancient Greeks), Manfredi weaves his tale with great humanity and a fierce knowledge of the period.
While not matching Steven Pressfield's now classic 'Gates of Fire', and prone to bouts of portentousness (with a slightly elliptical ending), this remains a fascinating and compelling read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2008
Manfredi can be a bit up and down on his books, but this along with the Alexander series is one of the best. As usualy the seamless blend of fact and fiction draw you into a past world in a gripping and entertaining way. This was out before the 300 and is much more history based than that film. Well worth a read, even if you are not necessarily a historical fiction fan
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2012
I thought the best of all the manfredi stories and really strong characters.
It would be wishfull thinking for a second book but thats just wishfull thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2013
i bought these for hubby who is manfredi fan, he loves this book and got stuck straight into it, i would not hesitate to get these again for him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
I love this author and was not disappointed ! he brings his caractors to life your there living it with them. He leaves you wanting more!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
Fantastic book and well worth a read I really enjoyed it. Would recommend this book to friends and others who enjoy historical battles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2013
Really well written book enjoyed every moment of it not entirely historically correct I believe but worth the money either way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2016
Excellent tale of ancient Greeks of hero's and villain's
of a long lost world we can visit in our imagination..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2014
Excellent book, with a very meaningful story line. 'Spartan' added to the list of successful novels by Manfredi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Empire of Dragons
£8.99
Heroes
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here