Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
69
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2017
Met the usual standards. Another good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Best read in sequence with Tangled Threads
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2003
Following on with the life of Eveleen Hardcastle and her family from the author's previous book, Tangled Threads, this story takes the reader on a journey through the first World War. Showing how it wasn't only the men who went to fight that suffered and had their lives drastically changed but so did the women who were left behind to cope. It shows a compulsive timeless love from the women, that never changed while their menfolk were away and how they never gave up despite the uphill struggles they encountered from dealing with difficult relatives and a different type of working skill while longing for their loved ones to come home safely from the war.
Margaret Dickinson has once again produced a rivetting story full of love and intrigue. She uses the setting this time as close to Belvoir Castle in Grantham and once again the book is hard to put down once you have commenced reading, be prepared to shed a tear for the characters and warn your family that you will be ignoring them for a while. Excellent.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Author: Margaret Dickinson
Title: Twisted Strands
Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Family Sagas, Historical Romance, Historical Fiction,

I was given this book along with tangled threads.

Book Dedication: With great affection and deep admiration this book is dedicated to my uncle, Brian Copley, who enlisted in 1914 at the age of sixteen in the 8th battalion Sherwood foresters, (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire regiment) and served throughout the war.

Thankfully, he survived the trenches to life a long and happy life and it has been a privilege to share his memories and experiences through his personal diaries of the time.

This book has 400 pages and 62 chapters in it.

I would tell people that you should step outside your comfort zone with books because it is good to add more authors and genres to your reading portfolio. Even if you do not read books like this.

I normally read books of this genre but l also stepped outside my comfort zone with authors and genres l am so glad l did because l have read so many great books and come across some great authors.

I highly recommend this book but l would tell people to read tangled threads first so you know the full story not just half.

Synopsis: It is 1914 and Eveleen Hardcastle, now in her early thirties, has married Richard. Her longing for children is the only shadow over the happiness, but the world war breaks out, Eveleen is left to manage the Notttingham Factory alone while Richard goes to fight for his country. Eveleen's mother, Mary, has found happiness at last in her marriage to Josh. Her granddaughter, Birdie, still lives at home and has a spirited, strong will which her grandmother finds hard to control. When Andrew, the love of her life, also enlists, Birdie finds consolation in a rewarding vocation. Nursing wounded soldiers sent home from the front, she gains a maturity beyond her years. But every day the casualty list from the hell of the trenches grows longer. Bridie nurses her grandfather on his death bed as her boyfriend is fighting the war, she became a nurse to help people and keeps in touch with her auntie Eveleen who husband is also fighting in the war and she loves her family.

Review: I found this really easy to get in to and hard to put down once l started reading it I was happy to be reading the follow on to tangled threads. I am glad that Eveleen moved on and got married. I was happy to read that Eveleen's mother found someone who loves her after her husband's tragic death and she is still raising her granddaughter. It is nice to read that Bridie gets to meet her grandfather and she nurses him on his death bed which is very sad to read but glad her grandfather was not on his own when he passed away. Bridie's uncle and boyfriend are both fighting the war. Leaving the women they love behind. Bridie also helps nurses soldiers who have been hurt on the front line and she must see loads of deaths when they can not save the soldiers and she watched her grandfather passed away to poor girl. I hope Eveleen's husband and Bridie's boyfriend comes back from the war alive and unhurt so Bridie and Eveleen do not lose any more people they love. I hope Eveleen's brother and Birdie's father is ok. I can not put in to words how great this book is l would tell people to read it for themselves to know how great it really is. This book is a must read l am glad it is on my book shelf with the first book in the series tangled threads.

About The Author: Margaret Dickinson was born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, Margaret Dickinson moved to the coast at the age of seven and so began her love for the sea and the Lincolnshire landscape. Her ambition to be a writer began early and she had her first novel published at the age of twenty-five. This was followed by a number of further titles including the clippie girls, fairfield hall and welcome home. Margaret is a Sunday times top ten bestseller.

About The Book: I love the book cover and l like that it comes in two different book cover designs and l love the colour and it is not too bright or not too dull.

Star Rating: Five Out Of Five Stars

 
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
This book is a sequel to Tangled Threads, Eveleen is now 30 and is married to Richard, they have a very happy marriage, Richard has never loved anyone only Eveleen, one thing would make there marriage complete is a child, which at present does not seem to happen for them. Bridie is now growing up and Mary is finding it hard to control her, as she is very strong willed, at an early age all Bridie wants is one day to marry Andrew her godfather who she has loved all her life, but unfortunately Andrew only ever loved one woman and that is Bridie dead mother Rebecca.

First world war breaks out, Bridie becomes a nurse while Eveleen has to run the factory while Richard volunteers to fight in the war.

I was a little disappointed with this book, as at the end of Tangled Threads, Eveleen was going back to Nottingham, and she was ready to love again, and obviously meet up with Richard again who fell in love with Eveleen, but then the story starts 10 years later and she was married to Richard, I would have love to be able to read when she met up with Richard again
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
a good story with some memorable characters. however, to me , the ending seemed rather rushed, almost as though the author had had enough and just wanted to end it. A 'feel good' story though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
fantastic yet again, I really do not know how she does it .I have not read a bad novel from her yet.Keep them coming Margaret.thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£6.48
£6.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here