Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
165
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2013
arrived super quick time, in excellent condition, am so looking forward to reading, cant wait to watch too. good value and just as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
Beautiful written book, really enjoy reading it. I didn't know what to expect, but was not disappointed. I will certainly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
"The Sea" deals with some of life's weightier issues. Death. Memory. Loss. Regret. And yet if only it could have done so in a less self-consciously pompous manner! John Banville has been lauded for the quality, for the richness, of his English prose, but really, is it necessary to make such peacock-like displays of language (one imagines John, sitting at his typewriter - a PC being, naturally, far too prosaic, too non-intellectual - and stroking his well-thumbed Roget's Thesaurus before smugly typing "leoporine" or "flacculent" or (Heaven help us) "anaglypta"). It's too dense and it doesn't dance on the page, it doesn't engage: one trips up over the words, gets tangled in them.

Oh yes, the plot. An old guy with an enormous capacity for navel-gazing revisits scenes of youth and thinks about his first love and about death and about his own identity. OK, so all the over-analytic, dense description is presumably supposed to show how the narrator is struggling to come to emotional terms with his past, but the lack of real emotion, and the queasiness of the prose, together with the lack of real plot form such a barrier that it's really hard to care about any of the characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I know John Banville is an accomplished writer, that is never in doubt, but he does appear to have swallowed a dictionary for no better reason than to impress the reader. I find that irritating and pretentious. The purpose of reading is to enjoy, not to be made to feel inferior. He himself has described other of his works as pretentious. No wonder he writes detectives under another name.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2006
This was one of the few books I was unable to finish.Banville seems to be a master of unnecessary verbosity and flowery language. In fact, so much elevated language is used that it is rendered worthless. Why does he feel the need to use thirty words when four would suffice? The Booker prize should be about quality of writing not about how much of the thesaurus somebody can cram into a book. It also doesn't help that the main character is impossible to like or relate to. One of the worst books I have ever attempted to read.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
very boring Content not very interesting at all. language good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2005
I must admit that this is the first time I've read anything from John Banville (Booker Prize 2005 winner). The book is beautifully written (totally agree with the other reviews), but it is difficult to fully appreciate the book because I cannot relate to the main character at all (the age, the loss, the negative maincharacter). To me the book is way too slow.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
What a remarkable book; possibly his best work, certainly his best book since "Book of Evidence". The prose is so well balanced, it is almlost poetry.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Beautifully written. Just draws you in with it's imagery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
unusual refreshing, now want to read more of th author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here