Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 4 July 2009
This is by far the best book about Liverpool FC that I have ever read. Brian Reade's passion (no, make that obsession) is matched only by his economical, yet extremely powerful way with words. It is frequently 'laugh-out-loud', but is also heartbreaking to the point of actual tears (with good reason too)... If you support Liverpool therefore, or even if you don't, I can't recommend this book highly enough.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2010
This is an excellent book, written with humour, warmth, wit wisdom and insight. The author combines his own personal experiences as a Liverpool fan with the story of the club itself, producing a unusual book thats part autobiography and part club history. Any football fan will identify with the suffering, the joy, the highs and lows, and the blind obsession that Brian Reade has experienced over 40 yrs of following Liverpool. But where the book really wins is in its first hand accounts of Heysel and Hillsborough, tragic events that anybody who follows the game should know about and understand. Reade was deeply affected by both of these events and is able to write with the authority and compassion of someone who witnessed what happened and lived through the aftermath. I had a few criticisms - Reade is a journalist, and towards the end he quotes quite a few of his articles in full when it doesn't always seem necessary, and there are a few mistakes which could have been edited out by a proof reader - but overall I'd recommend the book without hesitation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
I read this book on in a couple of days on holiday, and it was part of my hols. Its all there, for any Liverpool (or football) fan. Going to the match yourself, chasing tickets to take your lad, divorce, to not fancying it any more. Then to the born again stage, when watching your lad and his emotions are more important than your own. All the highs, being greedy, to the very lows are covered. A superb read, to what it was like through the decades, the best part were the views that Brian gives on managers, players, a fans view, with the extra spice of having a journlists inside knowledge.
His work on Hillsbourogh is another book on it's own. And the honesty brought everythink back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
I agree with the other reviewer, Brian Reade writes a compelling book with the rollercoaster of emotions that following Liverpool over decades bring with it. He doesn't shy away from unpleasant truths (blame over Heysel) and neither is he willing to lay down and accept anything less than the real truth over Hillsborough.
This book will make you laugh and it will make you cry. More than anything it will make you proud to be a Scouser. Our inability to be prodded, poked or pigeon-holed and our ability to always see the bright side and the black humour in some awful situations.
Congratulations to Reade on writing a football book which is nothing like some of the saccharine sweet sycophantic scribblings of some of his journalistic contemporaries.
Highly recommended to any football fan or student of late 20th Century social history.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
What an amazing read!! If you are a Liverpool fan then this is a must read book.
It is full of all those nights we all remember along with that scouse humour that will make you laugh from the bottom of your belly!
Snap it up Redmen!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
This is an engaging read for any football fan, with special resonance for anyone who supports Liverpool. Reade conveys the highs and lows of the last five decades with honesty and humour. His style is informal and his observations are both insightful and well-informed, allowing the reader to rekindle their own memories of the Liverpool glory days (and nights), depending on his or her age, or giving a flavour of how it felt to be part of a period of unprecedented (and hitherto unsurpassed) success in the history of English club football. The events of Heysel and Hillsborough are handled with heartfelt candour, as are the glimpses into Reade's personal life. He manages to encapsuate the sentiments of all of these landmark moments with a refreshingly straightforward openness. Make no mistake, this is a subjective, passionate odyssey, seen through the eyes of a genuine supporter, which any true Red will thoroughly enjoy. I know I did! (show less)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
This indeed is a must read for ANY fan of the beautiful game. It tells it from the fans side. The passion, the pride, the misery the pain. It also shows the greed involved, lack of tickets for the real fans, lack of planning, lack of respect for the fans.
But most of all the passion of one man's love with his club.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
I read this book from cover to cover in one day and I'm guessing a lot of readers do that. If you're a red you will really enjoy this. Stick it on your Christmas list..............or just buy it now!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
I will keep this brief. An awesome read, that will have you laughing out loud and shedding a tear. Brilliantly written, a must for everybody, especially Liverpool fans. I loved it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
I really enjoyed this book. I have read it twice already. Brian Reade is so good at conveying his passion for LFC he could even turn a bluenose red! He takes you through his journey as a Liverpudlian from childhood to present, following the Redmens highs and lows. If you love football and Liverpool you will love this book. It is both heartbreakingly sad (Hillsborough), uplifting(Istanbul) and funny. I cannot recommend it strongly enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)