Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2016
Overall an 'OK' light-hearted chick-lit.

Other than the fact that I had no prior knowledge of the characters, I cannot say my not having read any of the previous books impeded on my reading of this, the fifth novel in the series, which began a whole new chapter in the protagonist's life, that of a newly-wed. However ...

Humorous (though it never quite had me laughing out loud) in places but grossly stereotypical. Still, they say stereotypes exist for a reason and I think many readers will see something of themselves (or someone they know) ... even if it is just the 'snoring rhinoceros' of a partner ... in Helen, her sister, new mum, Julia and/or best friend, Leoni.

To sum it up in four words .... 'It had its moments'. I'm just not certain I'll be seeking out any of the other four books.

Copyright: Tracy Terry @ Pen and Paper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Helen is now safely married to Rick; Julia is suffering a bad case of post natal depression; Leoni is still trying to find a foolproof way of getting rid of husband Marcus and Sara - Julia's business partner - is running the business like a female version of Sir Alan Sugar. But life is never as simple as you think it is and Helen doesn't feel at home in Rick's house and yearns for her own flat and her neighbours Sally and Paul.

Full of rousing slapstick incidents and rapier sharp dialogue this has to be the best in the `Housewife' series. You will laugh, cry and groan as misunderstanding follows misunderstanding. People who you expect to be able to keep a secret suddenly start revealing everything to anyone who will listen, causing absolute mayhem. Can Julia deal with her mid life crisis/post-natal depression before she tears up her life and starts again? Will Leoni manage to do anything serious to Marcus or the kids? Can Helen co-exist peacefully with Helga the Russian cleaning lady? How is Rick going to cope with his latest marriage? Has Sara been body snatched by Attila the Hun?

This is a brilliant roller coaster of a read which will leave you breathless and exhausted at the end of it. I suggest shutting yourself away with a bottle of wine - or two - a box of chocolates and the phone off the hook until you've read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
This is the fifth book in an absolutely brilliant series beginning with Housewife Down. I love the characters and the story has a lot of humour running through it. Thoroughly entertaining read. Couldn't put it down. I'm sure most women with, or without a man in their lives, would enjoy this book and indeed the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
this is a series of 5 books starting with housewife down. these books have lovely rich characters and i loved everyone of them, taking you through the main characters life from the unexpected death of her husband, her family and friends, who are brilliant characters, a well rounded mix of personalities, you will not be able to put these books down!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
The two stars are for the last two chapters which were very good and gave me hope that we will hear more from Helen and Rick and Co.

The other books in the series are great but this is a prime example of a rushed manuscript given a cursory/careless edit. Fiction is about larger than life characters and situations but they have to be believably realistic and in a series develop well, which was the case, until this book.

A promising manuscript, shame it wasn't given the care and attention it deserved.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
firstly, this is not normally the kind of book i would normally choose to read as i like ian rankin, greg iles, peter james etc. However i was sent the very first one of the house wife series (house wife down) free with an order and read it when i had nothing else to read. to my surprise it was very funny (the character Leoni has me cracking up with her witty and slightly cruel lines)and a gripping read. since then i check about once a year to see if there is a new one out. Like the others this failed to dissapoint. it is still very funny with a great twist that i never saw coming. if you have read any of the others and enjoyed them then you will enjoy this one too. if you haven't well i would recommend starting from the begining (house wife down)

In conclusion a great read and i am waiting (hoping) for more to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
Great book, although not my usual taste - in fact it's so far removed from my usual you wouldn't believe! Andy McNab, James Patterson, Jeffrey Deaver etc. Got the first one in the series as a present and read it just to be polite, but it turned out to be great. It was serious, far-fetched, wacky, and real laugh out loud funny-literally. No tricky story lines or characters just a light-hearted, easy read. I have now read them all and each one is as good as the last, the characters are believeable, the situations they get themselves in are hilarious and cringe-worthy! I'd definitely recommend this book and the rest in the series, ideally read in order. If you are looking for an easy, light-hearted, funny and uncomplicated read to take on holiday this is just the ticket.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
An absolute must to read however there are five books so make sure you read them in the correct order I loved every single one of these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Arrived on time and quality was excellent, very pleased with the service provided.
Will use Amazon again. Thank you to the provider too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Really enjoyed this book, great fun, can't wait for the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here