Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
381
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2015
A brilliant account of the travels of 'Alex Supertramp' piecing together his adventures and examining the pitfalls that led to his death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
Watched the film then read the book. Brilliant story would recommend for everyone who likes a true story. The film is also worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2001
Althought this is a book that recounts the terminal wanderings of a solitary young man, the author admits that he can see a lot of himself in the recounting of the tragedy. Some of the more interesting sections of the book are when Krakauer looks back upon his own adolescence in an attempt to understand why Chris McCandless ended up in the situation that was to kill him. An interesting read that sheds light upon the alternative lifestyles that a few unusual people choose to live, and captures the attraction of the great, if barren and unforgiving, outdoors.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Not really my cup tea! Based on a real life event- but the author guessed missing pieces and enjoyed talking about themselves- a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
This book is amazing, i've read it twice and still stick the film on repeatedly. A wonderful tale of soul beyond our society. love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2009
Heard about the film and wanted to read the book first. Fascinating honest account about one mans dreams of solitude going too far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
The story is okay and I like the way it's written, but I cringe every time the author writes 'could of' instead of 'could have'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
An incredible read. A book that will get the adventurer inside you want to pack up your stuff in a small rucksack and leave.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Read this once, plan on reading it again, once i get it back off my circle of friends it's currently doing the rounds on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Brilliant read. Totally absorbing exploration of the men who simply want to live in the wild. Quite harrowing in parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here