Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
59
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2014
WHAT A LAUGH-A-MINUTE THIS BOOK IS . HOW WONDERFUL TO FIND A 'CELEBRITY' WHO DOES NOT TAKE HIMSELF SERIOUSLY , AND CAN AFFORD TO BE THE BUTT OF JOKES !

I KNOW HE WOULDN'T MENTION THE OBVIOUS - BUT I CAN'T RESIST --- 'BEAM ME UP SCOTTIE ' .

MAY YOU HAVE MANY YEARS OF GOOD HEALTH AND FUN LEFT MR.SHATNER ! YOU HAVE CERTAINLY MADE ME LAUGH OUT LOUD FOR THE FIRST TIME IN AGES.

IT'S LIFE JIM --BUT NOT AS WE KNOW IT !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Well, ok, yes it is a book. I enjoyed it. You will too. Or not. But I doubt that very much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
William Shatner makes it clear fairly early on this book that his keyboard is firmly in his cheek as he retells the story of his life and trys to sell you stuff from his on-line store.

While some will find the style off-putting this is a very personal memoir from a television icon - an actor for almost 60 years he has at least three great shows to his name (Star Trek, T.J. Hooker and Boston Legal) but the book is about more: his joys, his tragedies, his life "up till now".

If you are a fan of his work there are plenty of anecdotes about the well known shows and horror stories about the unknown films. Other facets included are his family, his charity work and his passions - food, woman, horses - maybe not in that order but you get the idea.

Shatner admits to making stuff up in the past, being no good at marriage for many years and making some truly awful films but he does it all in a way that makes you like him and, you get the sense, that may be his aim in all he does
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
What can you say about William Shatner that hasn't already been said a thousand times (more often than not by the man himself)? He seems to be something of a Marmite character; you either love him or hate him, and sometimes he seems to have been very hard for people to like. From his early beginnings as a respected stage actor through to his later much. Parodied. "Shatnerian". Style. Of. Acting. - he has certainly had a long career so, at the very least, you do have to respect him for that. You might not think much of his acting (I happen to think he's very under-rated) but you can't deny that he's been very successful at it.

This, the latest of his autobiographical works is a lot of fun (although not as laugh out loud funny as some would have you believe) and takes a breezy informal style to tell the story of a very complex and hard working man. The plugs (mostly for his own websites) that interrupt the text are entirely in keeping, as is the running gag of a long list of STAR TREK memorabilia that keeps popping up. Keeping every half hour of his life busy (and boy does he keep busy!) seems to be the secret of his success, and even his failures ("Transformed Man" anyone?) seem to become opportunities for him to strive on into the future with his very complicated career.

However, it's not been fun all the way, and he does speak very frankly and movingly about the darker areas of his life. From a period of having to live in his car, and his frustrations when his pet projects fail, to the many tragedies of his personal life, all are handled very openly and sometimes quite poignantly. He also waxes philosophical about coming to terms with what it is to be an aging action hero and what that can mean to your prospects for acting work. The revival of his career as a character actor well into his 70s is something we can all admire, and even he seems surprised at the amount of luck he has had in his long and very active life. Actor, comedian, writer, director, sky-diver, horse breeder, recording artiste... he seems to have done it all. And do you know what? I'm really glad. If the world hadn't had a William Shatner, we'd have had to make one up, but I suspect no-one would believe it.

This is the story of a quite complex man living his life to the full and loving it, coming to terms with his place in the world, staving off the long dark night and learning to laugh at himself, and as such makes for a very pleasant and enjoyable read.

NB My paperback edition has one blank square where a photograph should have been. Maybe a late copyright issue, or maybe a publishing error that will be corrected in future editions. Not important at all, really, but worth a mention if that sort of thing bothers you.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Struggling to read........he's trying too hard to be amusing and it becomes tiresome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
William Shatner's latest autobiography has a vey quirky feel to it, and focuses mainly on his acting career. Born in Canada, young Bill decided he wanted to act, against his father's wishes, and as soon as possible headed to Broadway
under the promise that he would become a star.

The first third of the book covers the years before Star Trek, and Shatner describes in a very informal manner his formative years and his early acting life. He details a surprising number of stage and television performances. If you are looking for anecdotes about Shatner's time on Star Trek though you will be disappointed. These have already been covered in Shatner's previous works 'Memories' and 'Movie Memories'.

The middle section of the book I found hardest going. These were really the post-Trek years of the seventies. The final part picks up again. Shatner covers his tragic relationship with his third wife Nerine, and then demonstrates a real passion for his most recent role as Denny Crane in Boston Legal.

The one thing that irritated me was the feeling that the book was just an advertisement for Shatner's work, rather than a memoir about doing it. There is a running joke whereby Shatner tells the reader that things are available to buy from his website, but after being repeated in every chapter it gets a bit sickeningly shameless.

Overall it is an interesting read. The impression I get is mostly of honesty from Shatner and a sense that he is quite amazed by how well he has done out of his career. If you are a Shatner fan then it will probably be a must-read, but if you dislike him then you will probably find it a cheap sales pitch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
William Shatner has a reputation as a bit of an egomaniac and this book reinforces that (admittedly most autobiographies can be a bit egotistical). There are pages about resuing kids from drowning and how many lives he saved via his Rescue 911 show etc.

The fact that most of his co-stars hate him is dismissed in a few paragraphs. There are loads of plugs for his online store. These are in a jokey fashion but its still advertising.
All in all this is a readable book but not great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Up Till Now will appeal to Shatner fans and those who are thinking about acting careers. He provides a "lite" look at what it was like where even the tearful moments are mostly played for laughs.

William Shatner and David Fisher provide lots of entertaining fare that manages to explain his roles and attitude toward life. Being an actor brings an appreciation for irony: An ordinary role may create stardom while a great role may lead to a cancellation. Mr. Shatner's long and successful career has taught him to appreciate simply being able to work and save a little money. He also humbly understands that building and maintaining a marriage while acting is even more difficult, an area where he has not excelled.

The book contains lots of humorous details that were hidden to the camera at the time and the writing sparkles with bon mots like: "This was a series that spared every expense." "Call me 'Lost my life savings in uranium' Shatner. But don't call me collect!" "Where divorce is concerned, it takes two to tangle."

The writing also simulates a conversation in which Shatner continually changes the subject just as you get the juicy part, such as interrupting a story about performing nude with Angie Dickinson with another story about learning how horses can help physically and emotionally handicapped kids. I assume this is Shatner's personal style.

There's also a lot of peek-a-boo in the book, where an allusion is made to some secret that reveals much of the secret without getting into the whole detail such as in the book's final question (I won't say what it is, that would be a spoiler).

Star Trek fans may be a little disappointed that the book doesn't revolve around the series and movies. But most of Shatner's career involved non-Enterprise appearances.

The book kept me laughing throughout. Unlike most books where I race through the book, the entertainment value in this one kept me reading closely.

Why didn't I rate the book a little higher? Shatner was so coy for so long that I didn't feel like he was playing consistently fair with me. Perhaps he doesn't know any more what his own feelings are compared to what he knows will entertain.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like a lot of people I only really bought this book as I'm a fan of the original Star Trek series. However, I must also admit to being a bit of a fan of his music. "Has Been" was great, but if you can, try and track down "In Love" - it's brilliant.

I really enjoyed this book and I avoided doing what I do with many biographies by actors, musicians, etc, I didn't skip any bits. I did buy this with an attitude: I'll read about the Star Trek period, but miss out the rest, but I didn't.

The book is easy to read and it's refreshing to read about a star (as that's what Our William is) who doesn't take himself too seriously. For example there's a great line about a review he'd had when Star Trek was first aired, he'd been called 'wooden'. Bill writes in the book that this didn't bother him at the time and it's continued not to bother him for the last forty years!

I would heartily recommend this book, it can be sad, touching and laugh-out-loud funny.

William, you are really something!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
An honest and very funny autobiography of the legendary Mr William Shatner. At times the flow is somewhat lost but it's an enjoyable journey to take.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)