Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2001
A classic Inspector Morse mystery concerning the murder of a guest staying in the annexe of an Oxford hotel over the New Year period. The fact that all the guests were in fancy dress for the party on the night of the murder only complicates matters considerably.
This novel could almost be used as a text-book on how-to-write-a-whodunnit by budding crime writers. Once again Colin Dexter's legendary skill in planting clues for the reader is on display to the full - he loves using clues planted in lists and in incongruous looking letters. By using a fancy dress ball he reverts to the old dictum of the Father of Crime, Edgar Allan Poe - Q. How do you hide something best? A. By placing it right before your eyes. A brilliant and hellishly devious criminal puzzle, outsmarting all but the great detective (of course!).
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
With the completion of this book I have now read the complete set of "Morse" books. This was as enjoyable as the rest of the stories,although both the Morse and Lewis characters were in the earlier stages of development and the plot was easier to decipher than most of the Morse novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
Very pleased with the condition of this book. I would recommend books from this seller. I have read all of Colin Dexter's Inspector Morse books, they are a really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Love Inspector Morse books - Mr Dexter pens an excellent read! Thank you Mr Dexter for taking the time to produce such an excellent novel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
A 4.5 star read, my first by this author. Superb character development. Juxtaposed against each other, the contrasting and deeply developed characters of Morse and Lewis (in many ways one as different from the other as the day from the night) and their unfolding relationship with each other are a delight to read. The characters and their interplay are cleverly and very skilfully developed through witty and sharp dialog and well written spells of internal monologue.

The characters dipped periodically into other minor characters' POVs and hopped through minor characters' heads unnecessarily, for which I take half a star off. These dips into and hops through POVs should have been edited out. I also wondered why one party of the pair was not arrested as accessory to the crime at the end, but allowed to go free because the author seemingly have a soft spot for this person. This would not happen in real life in England.

A few more minor mistakes: The police have master keys to any house in England and do not have to break down any doors. Every lock in England is manufactured or sold so that a set of master keys available to the police can open any door. Furthermore, no suspect can be questioned without first been given the Miranda warning, or their prosecution will fail. Also in a murder investigation generally the senior officer will lead the interviews.

The writing is superb and literary - at a level perfect for a mystery. The plot is layered and complex so that it keeps the reader guessing and on the edge of the seat all the time, but it is somewhat contrived at times. The prose as well as the plot is intellectual and cultured and the characters so deep that it got one really emotionally involved. A little humor makes one laugh out loud. I knew the story was great when about half way through the book it made me incapable of any other work and I had to lie to take a sick day off work to finish reading the book. So engrossing were the characters and the storyline I could not bear to put the book down for anything - even for my job or for meals.

Deep, delightful, and emotionally engaging character development is the best thing about this book. This is coupled with superb, cultured, and literary writing enhanced by a complex and intellectually challenging plot to deliver a cracking read. I have already bought 3 more books in the series to read soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Colin Dexter is one of my favourite authors, and he does not disappoint with this book. A truly gripping read - could not put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
An excellent book,Colin Dexter takes some beating,I haven't read a bad one yet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Very pleased with this purchase, in good condition as stated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
A good read. I remember this from the TV series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Another excellent Morse, couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse