Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
98
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2017
What a stonking read. The whole book from start to finish shows lead investigator Arkady trusting his instinct & being unafraid to question senior officials in both the police where he is investigating a brutal triple murder & the KGB suspected of heavy involvement. It's grabs you by the scruff of the neck & those who were young and scared of the whole Coldwar situation will have it ready & ready for more straight afterwards.
The topics covered vary from party expectations of the people, lack of empathy, traitors & unsuspecting, but equally scared friends. Everyone is afraid. Including me. First class conspiracy novel. Hope you love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
This was a stunning thriller, and a great read. There was no real hero, Renko being deeply flawed, and no good guys or bad guys, the obsessively greedy capitalist Yanks being even worse than the corrupt reds. The overall picture was of a sordid, seedy, corrupt world and one policeman who, in spite of his flaws, tries to stay out of the dirt. Although Soviet Russia is long gone the book doesn't feel obsolete, probably because human greed and corruption are eternal. The backdrop of the book is exactly the way I pictured Soviet Moscow to be, and although it may simply have been a cliched picture conforming to my prejudices, it was still highly effective. The plot wasn't groundbreaking, and there were no twists or surprises, but I really enjoyed the way Renko, starting with nothing, gradually peeled away the layers of lies and mystery to reveal them truth. Read it, especially if you haven't seen the excellent movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Investigator Arkady is a strongly depicted character operating within a realistically depicted crumbling Soviet Union. The plot is complex, but coherent. Occasionally there are traces of the influence of Crime and Punishment - and why not! The novel with the passing of time has become historical, but what really changes in Russia?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Terrible Book Film and Kindle access but I now have all three, saw the film first, this and Michael Caine Harry Palmer make the Russia scenes wonderful Well worth having all three, excellent Lee Marvin and well acted Wolverine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Exciting read with plenty of action, following the Russian investigator Arkady as he begins to understand and reveal the complexity of the plot which initially seems like a simple triple murder in Gorky Park.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Enjoyable spy thriller good story line well written lots of twists and turns. If you enjoy a good spy novel this is the one for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
I've owned this book in hardback since it came out. To read it again via kindle was an option to good to resist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
Well written and, for once, delivers the promise given by the enthusiastic reviews this book has already collected, though be prepared for some graphic violence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
Excellent, gripping read. Sags a little in the middle after a rip-roaring opening section, but builds again to a tumultuous climax.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
I read Tokyo Station as my introduction to MCS and that was a fantastically imaginative and realistic-sounding description of pre-war Japan, how does he do such detailed research on each book every time? GP is excellent as my introduction to the Arkady Renko series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.49

Need customer service? Click here