Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
26
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2015
One of a series of books by wonder writer Enid Blyton. I wish I had read her books when I was younger. My daughter, Julia (aged 8) and I read the books together. She likes to do the voices and my task is to keep the narration going.

The books do follow a formula but are not formulaic and would appeal to any young person with a sense of adventure and a thirst for knowledge. The settings of the adventures are always superbly and graphically described. The stories race along, and the dialogue is a both a revelation and an education.

Well researched with huge amounts of background detail the adventures of the four young protagonists and their accompanying menagerie are beautifully and convincingly related.

Best of all, the youngsters are the heroes and heroines of the tales, and come to the aid of the adults. The mid-century vocabulary​ and attitudes do not intrude significantly and often lead to a talking point.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
THE ADVENTURE SERIES

THEY ARE THE BEST FOR A FIRST READ!

Enid’s ‘Adventure’ books (Jack, Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Kiki) were the catalyst which encouraged me to start reading more than 50 years ago. Thank you, Enid. The BBC, many libraries, local authorities and alleged educational experts have been completely wrong about the worth of the Blyton works. I can remember having substantial difficulty obtaining the original books. Quite a few shops would not stock them but they were wonderful stories for teenagers! The tales are great to read for their simplicity and straightforwardness.

When one did find copies of the book they were quite expensive all those years ago but great to own. I loved the letter on the back cover from Enid in some editions and the physical appearance of the books as well which I treasured as a youngster with the way in which the books were produced then making them somehow much easier to read.

It’s a delight to read these adventure stories again in middle age although recent editing has diminished some of the memories I have of the original editions and words used then (but I am now getting old).

Never mind… these books remain one of my best friends for life: they began my own reading adventure so do read these special adventures for yourselves.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
My 8 year old daughter has just read this Adventure series. She started off with the Secret Seven, moved onto the Five Finder-Outers, then the Famous Five and then this series. She said that this series was the most exciting she had ever read and she was absolutely engrossed from beginning to end... I've now read them as I don't remember reading them as a child! They are very exciting with a new and different adventure in each book. There are cliff-hanger episodes but the fear factor is never too bad.... you know they will escape and all will be well! I would definitely recommend these for all young Enid Blyton fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
I have actually got the 1966 Armada version. This is the eighth and last in the Adventure Series of Philip, Dinah, Lucy Ann, Jack and Kiki. This starts when all four children are recovering from flu at the home of Bill and Mrs Cunningham. Mrs Cunningham is trying to cope without her husband Bill, who has gone off on a job again. It is term time, but none of the children want to go back to school!

Whilst the children are recovering, they listen to a Police Radio Play, which involves a police whistle and shouting "Police"! Kiki picks both of those up, and it is while she is imitating the police whistle that Bill returns home. He returns from work to let his wife know he has to go off again, and investigate a man the British Govt are suspicious of. Bill immediately decides to take everyone on the holiday as cover. This means they fly from Britain to somewhere in the Middle East, where they are met by a car, which takes Bill and his family to a small hotel until they go on the river trip. Bill shows them that the man he is after (Uma) is a master of disguises, but what he can't disguise is a scar on his right forearm. Philip also learns that there are snakes in the region (to Dinah's horror) and learns that the bargua snake is the most poisonous!

Next day, they go on the river with a launch hired by Bill's company, and with a man in charge (Tala). He takes them to Sinny Town, where Philip meets Oola, who works with his snake charmer uncle Bula. Philip discovers that the snakes mouths have been deliberately sown up! Later on, Oola comes on the launch, and is besotted by Philip. Bula has gone with the snakes and left Oola alone. The children and Tala get used to him, and Oola becomes quite a central character. He later brings Philip a present, which is a bargua snake with it's mouth not sown up. It is then found out the ducts from the teeth leading to the poison glands have been deliberately cut! Philip keeps the snake as a pet.. Soon after, the launch lands at Ullabaid, where the children disembark, and visit a temple. However they get lost, and when darkness falls, they are stumped. Oola however, has been following the children all day, and leads them back to the launch in darkness.

Uma then visits the launch in his own motor boat. he invites Bill and Mrs Cunningham to his house at Chaldo. Bill is forced to accept the invitation to avoid suspicion. Tala takes Mrs Cunningham and Bill to Chaldo, and leaves the children with Tala on the launch. Just before Bill and Mrs Cnningham set off with Mr Uma, the children are invited to a wedding dance by Uma's servant Jallie. Bill refuses.

Unfortunately, Tala is taken in by Mr Uma's servant, who then tells Tala to tell the children that Bill had changed his mind, Jallie then takes the children a walk to the village, but it is soon apparent that it is a trick. Philip shows his snake, and Jallie takes them back to where the launch should be. It has gone!

Enter Oola, who explains to Philip what happened, He finds Uma's motor boat, and a tied up Tala, They all get in the motor boat, and Tala sails for an hour, and then ties the boat up to a tree. Tala tells them that Bill and Mrs Cunningham have been taken to Wooti from Chaldo. In the morning, they set off up the river to Wooti, and call at Hoa village, where they were told Wooti is further on, about two or three hours away. After an hour and a half, they come to a bigger village, and Tala wants to stop, but Jack refuses because they have only been going an hour and a half. They carry on, and the river suddenly widens! Tala stops the boat, and refuses to drive, but Oola starts the boat again, annoying Tala who takes over from Oola on driving the boat. The river gets narrower and narrower, and Tala stops the boat, and finds that the river is moving the boat along.

It turns out that they were in a gorge. They were heading towards a waterfall, and Tala sees a break in the cliffs, forcing the boat to stop, and land in a cavern. They explore, and find a tunnel. They come to the end, and find it is blocked by old bricks. Tala smacks the bricks with his hand, and they disappear into dust, This shows another tunnel, and they go along it, meeting an old door that crumbled into dust.

Following that, they see some stone steps going downwards into the cellars. They are so steep that Tala has to use a rope and a Grappling Hook. They go back to the motor boat, and study one of Uma's old books, They solve the mystery of the river dividing, and find out more about the history of the treasure. They also trace the route of the river and villages, and find Wooti on the map. They explore the passage in the whole upwards, but are forced to go downwards again, as there is no way out that way. They have to go back down stone steps into the cellars. Storerooms are found, and treasure is found. They then realise there is no way out of the cellars going upwards. They then go back to the storeroom, where Oola ties a rope to the rock, and the others are climbing up graduallw when Oola hears knocking in the passage behind him, and lets the rope go slack, thinking it is the old gods of years ago. Tala thinks the same. The others realise it is Uma and his men doing excavating on their own. Uma and his men see the children and confront them. He also speaks to Tala in his own language. Kiki then makes her police whistle and pistol shot noise when Philip mentions the police. This frightens the men temporarily.

Soon after, a man comes to see the children and apologise. He offers the prisoners help, but Jack sees the scar on his forearm and realises that it is Uma himself and this is a trick. Philip and Jack confront him, and he gets his men to build a wall of old bricks leaving the children, Oola and Tala imprisoned. Philip then brings out his bargua. and flings it at Uma, who panics. Tala breaks the wall, and the prisoners manage to escape up the rope and up the shaft. This then brings them to the second shaft, which brings them into daylight.

When they get out, they find the men around Uma, who has been bitten by Philip.s bargua. This makes Uma confess everything, and he is taken to Wooti to see Bill and Mrs Cunningham. Uma is handed over to a policeman instead of a Doctor, and gets an awful shock. They go back to the launch, and say goodbye to Oola. The children are worried that they might go straight back to school, until Mrs Cunningham tells them that they are not going to fly home, but are going back by sea, so they wouldn't be home for a week or more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was the best of the adventure series - exciting and dangerous like all the other books, but definitely funnier than the rest. Personally I would recommend this book, closely followed by the Sea of Adventure and The Valley of Adventure.

Katie McFarlane
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
My daughter has several of the Adventure series books, so when I saw this I couldn't resist adding it to her collection - in fact I read it before she did and was transported back to my own childhood when I first read it. A great nostalgia read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Read the Adventure series as a child and they have not disappointed as an adult. Nothing has changed to bring the books into the 21st century, and the suspence is still there. Enid Blyton was ahead of her time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
My mummy got the series from the local library and I then found out that i love this series . This book is the best one of the lot and has many good words in it . The reason i love this book is because it has exciting DANGERS , amazing happenings and some very funny things . The famous five (5) is very different to this series there are only four (4) people but there are five (5) in the famous five (5) and they have a dog. i recommend this book to age 7 to 12 and for both boys and
girls.

katy age 9
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
I bought this to (almost) complete my set of the Adventure books: I hope to introduce my grandson to these in due course! I've always thought that they are a really good set of exciting stories for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
My son now 10 is discovering these books, just as I did as a kid. They are simple, entertaining, safe and exciting. Still a good read after all of these years!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse