Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2017
Tim Good has a lucid, comfortable writing style. And, he references his work amply. The early part of this book is excellent; we get a condensed but cogent summary of pre-"saucer mania"sightings. This era covers the 1930s mystery planes of Scandanavia, sighting from aircraft during WW2,
post ww 2 Ghost rockets, and incursions over critical atomic and rocket development sites in from 1945 onward. Unfortunately Good gives credence to the Roswell and other "flying disc" crashes... complete with occupants. And he still persists in plugging George Adamski -- a rank charlatan and fraud. BUT, on the whole this is a crisply written and informative book. Personally,I think the UFO phenomenon is not extra- terrestial in origin. It seems to be para-physical in nature, and the intelligence behind it is quasi-rational. Dr Allen Hynek towards the end of his life, and his long study of the subject, moved away from ET to this viewpoint. We may well never "solve" the mystery, and merely collect and collate information concerning the characteristics and behaviour of the UFOs. Whatever, Tim Good does emphasises with justification that these objects do constitute a potential threat to our security, physical sciences and societal mind-set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Does what it says on the tin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Exellent book start believing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
The truth at last reveilled
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
If your interest lies in the murky world of government secrecy and possible cover up, then this is a book worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
This was the first book I've purchased about UFO phenomena, so it didn't really know what to expect. "Need to Know" reads like a historical compilation of sighting and abduction accounts, starting in 1930's through to the present day. In addition to this the author hints at his opinions and asks questions about the behaviour of the miliary (how things have been 'dealt with', or covered up).

The weight of the evidence gathered in this book to suggest that aliens exist is impressive (around 400 pages), and some of the witness accounts make for very interesting reading. The author has used statements from lots of senior people (military etc) to ensure a high degree of integrity.

My only issue with this book is that a lot of the accounts are repetitive (same shaped aircraft, same coloured lights/behaviours etc). Certain accounts however are enough to make you think twice about whether you'd report a sighting yourself.

The sad fact here though is that this book is not proof, only evidence. We won't have proof of extra-terrestrial beings until they land and introduce themselves. However, even if only a fraction of the accounts in this book are truthful, then we really should start looking at the sky more often.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2006
I've read all Timothy Good's books and this one has produced some startling stuff. Saw him do a talk when he was promoting 'Alien Base' and he said he had tons more info to talk about.

This is a kind of review through the years, but with new information, there is very little repetition of past information, so you won't be reading something that's been done already, merely aluded to.

The most interesting for me was the release of info regarding conflict with craft stretching through 40's and 50's - never knew it was to this extent!!

A cracking read, very thought provoking and surely must prove that UFO's are real - the people reporting incidents are not lunatics wanting attention, but pilots and army men, people whose opinions carry weight.

If you're interested in the UFO phenomenon, a great read.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2008
Anyone who has read Timothy Good's previous coverage of the UFO question will know that he is probably the UK's most respected authority on the subject. In this book he documents the major cases over the years, and highlights the ongoing coverup. I think this would make an excellent introduction on the subject for the casually interested reader who wants to know more, as well as an update for the more seasoned UFO sleuth.

Investigators in this field have a tough task; with the possible exception of the Roswell case, the mainstream media tend to single out the lunatic fringe for ridicule, so the general public has for the most part, been ignorant of what exactly has been going on. Through the Internet and the written word, we can get a glimpse of the truth. Yes, there are many cranks out there, looking to make a killing from their claims of alien contact, abduction, etc. It's for the reader or viewer to filter these out and concentrate on the serious attempts to fathom the mystery.

Timothy Good is not only a superb investigative journalist but also an excellent on-stage presenter and broadcaster. He always gives a balanced view, and is extremely thorough, leaving no stone unturned in his quest for the truth. He has always been interested in the government/military coverup aspect of the UFO phenomenon, and convinced me right from the start that the reality of the situation has been withheld from the public at large.

Full marks to him, and to others like him, for their attempts in prising open that constant lid of secrecy and revealing what has been going on over our heads (and behind our backs) all these years.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Tim Good has done a very thorough and professional job in researching and summarizing a hundred or so of the best documented interactions between ET craft and military installations and pilots over the past 60 years. All the cases detailed are multiple-witness with either radar tracking records or otherwise documented official recognition. I had not before realized that the USAF & Navy privately admit to having lost over 8,000 interceptor aircraft in attempting to engage ET craft. How they continue to publicly cover this up as 'training accidents' and such is astounding.

The book contains sections on some of the high-profile multiple-witness cases of incidents between ET craft and the military in Brazil, in China and the USSR and Mr. Good has gathered a lot of new and deeply researched material.

If I have one criticism of the book it would be that the necessarily factual and evidence-based reporting of the incidents makes for a rather fragmented narrative, free of speculation and flowing prose. It's a reference book rather than a novel, to be read in bite-sized chunks rather than one long session. As long as you understand this, you'll find the book an eye-opener. It's a work of scientific investigation and of fact, rather than of speculation and opinion.

Every pilot of my acquaintance either has personal experience of encounters with UFOs, or has friends in the aviation community who have. I have seen them myself on 2 occasions whilst flying. They are seen every day, all over the earth by pilots everywhere. Due to government suppression of sightings and attempts to ridicule witnesses, pilots don't bother reporting them anymore, but certainly they talk to each other. So the extent of interaction over the past 60 years revealed in the book is welcome confirmation. The news media unfortunately colludes with the policy, so the cover-up continues. If the policy is forced to change suddenly, many of the 'flat earthers' in the population who choose to cling to the security offered by redundant belief systems and have hitherto refused to confront the evidence may face a major paradigm shift. The end of inter-human conflict and war? The end of religion as we know it? Let's hope so.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
I always think that the best non- fiction makes propositions that seem outrageous to begin with, until you have read the book. Mr Good evidently feels that the majority of extra- terrestrial races are hostile or at best ambivalent to the interests of humans. He details thoroughly many incidents where Ufos have been fired upon by the military, and other occasions where aircraft have been shot down or "absorbed" by extra- terrestrial craft. Much of the book deals with the world wide government cover up of the situation and the compartmentalisation of knowledge which is only revealed on a "need to know" basis. To back up his claims, many authentic looking documents are reproduced. It becomes apparent that the human race has been engaged in a not so cold war with aliens, since the beginning of the twentieth century. Mr Good is inclined to give credence to much of Philip Corso's information concerning the seeding of alien technology within the military industrial complex, he makes a distinction between "private" and "public" technology, the advanced technological secrets that the military have gleaned from crashed Ufos, are of course mainly "private" and remain hidden within "black" programmes. In the final chapter Good quotes Ben R Rich, the ex- head of the Lockheed Martin "skunk works" who said "We now have the technology to take ET home"!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse