Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
194
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2017
Infuriatingly the perfect mushroom book would have elements of this edition of Philips work, and the last. The former edition had, in places, slightly better photography and the single best identification key for mushrooms I've ever seen. This edition is a little more comprehensive, and of course tightens up nomenclature using more modern names.

This is, without a doubt, the best mushrooming book on the market (if you're in the UK). I'm not saying buy the first edition instead - I'm saying buy the first edition as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
"The" definitive book on British Shrooms

Its a bit big to use as a field guide but never the less an excellent reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
I have recently become interested in mushrooms so wanted to find a good guide book. I chose Mushrooms by Roger Philips because there were such a lot of good reviews about the book. I was not disapointed. This is an excellent book that has plenty of pictures and information. The book is too big to take out so you have to bring the mushrooms back to identify them at home.I was horrified to discover that one of my finds was deadly!
This is a great book and if you only want one mushroom book this would be a good choice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Heavy duty mushroom book. Not a light read but very informative with a huge amount of info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
Basically still the 25 year old book with a little wider range and better production of photographs. If you have the previous version this is not worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Such an interesting book! Very good identification guide and it tells me if I can eat them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Very extensive book on uk mushrooms. Good photos and description of the various mushrooms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Beautiful, as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
ohwa..exelent mushrooms guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
For anyone contemplating this book, I'd shell out for a second-hand copy of Phillips' original:

Mushrooms and Other Fungi of Great Britain and Europe (A Pan original) (Or at least buy it in addition.)

The original book is vastly superior for the following reasons:

1. The 'visual key' to the main families. In the original this spans a double-page spread and therefore gives an idea of their appearance and dimensions relative to one another. This is entirely lost in the updated version.

2. The quality of photography. The differences between species can be so subtle, you really need accurate photography to make a judgement. Considering when the original book was first printed (1981) it must have been an enormously expensive undertaking using conventional photography and reprographics. The detail of the original photographs is exquisite, the colours are realistic, and moreover consistent throughout the book.

Some pictures in the updated edition have been re-shot digitally, and all have been compressed to reformat them into the updated (smaller) page size. A big mistake, in my view. Firstly for the loss of fine detail in compression, but also the way that digital photography renders colour compared with film.

The updated book has wide variations in colour rendering throughout. Rather tricky for the novice to compare species photographed using different techniques... I think Phillips should have re-shot all pictures at the new size and for consistency of colourisation, but he didn't.

Editing and referencing in the 'updated' version is sloppy too - some text refers to the wrong picture (and species) entirely. I can see some dangerous mistakes being made using this book. Please no-one rely on it for identification for consumption without cross-referencing the original.

That said, some of the updated material is of interest to the experienced mycologist.
22 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse