Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
38
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2005
This book is a must read for all music fans. The book takes you from before the band were formed and then through the good and bad times of one of the worlds biggest bands, from record breaking concerts to death threats and disaster. read it now
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
This was my first LZ biography and I was somewhat disappointed. It is not, in my opinion, very well written and at times a little difficult to follow. Unnecessary negative of other bands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
A great read for all Zeppelin fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2003
Stephen Davis wrote his version of the LZ Saga first, but his has the questionable glory of being also the worst. Compared to the biogrs of the band's inner-circle aficionado and its road manager, "Hammer of the Gods" spills far fewer beans about the band, as a matter of fact. If it has one redeeming virtue, it is that it delivers carefully worded descriptions about how Zeppelin Felt in its prime, on stage. But this can be gained from the band's DVD too for a higher price, but also the kick.
Hammer of the Gods is OK, at least better than "Dirt" about Mötley Crue if the nephew has to be initiated into Hard Rock, but listening to "Rover" from "Physical Graffiti" on double vinyl and sporting a scarf outdoes both.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
Having been a Zep Fan since hearing Kasmir played to me back in the Early 70's, i found this book a wonderful in sight into the GREATEST Rock Band we'll probably see. From facinating back ground of each individual member of the band and how they came together, the classic albums they made, the records sales, the money, the drugs, the groupies, the lack of appreciation form the British and the Amercian music press, to the links with Black Magic. The death of Robert Plants son and the Lengendary John Bonham, brings a lump to your throat. A facinating, humourous and in places very sad insight into this legendary Band.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
The history of led zeppelin or the history of rock and roll in the seventies. Good to know some of this tales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Excellent read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
A very absorbing read, it may not be 'authorised' but it seems so to me, very plausible, I hope it is all true, and then some! I was lucky enough to see them live once, turned out to be their penultimate gig in the UK, Earls Court 1975, last night, three and three quarter hours from "Fluff" Freeman's intro as, "The Led Zeppelin" bashing into Rock and Roll to the final encore (we were nearly outside at the re-restart!) of Communication Breakdown, what a show, what a band, what an "event" they were, larger than life........it was a privilege to have been 13 when their first album came out and 24 when Bonzo tragically passed away, what a rock drummer that guy really was!! Immense!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2006
This is not just the greatest Led Zeppelin book ever but the most indepth, fascinating, revealing and addictive music book ever written.

The creation of the greatest heavy rock band the world has ever seen is intriguing, the birth of the albums is incredible, the wilds of touring is the stuff of boys' dreams and the disasters are the rock and roll cherry on top.

BUY THIS NOW!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Interesting take on the rise of the best group in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse