Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
24
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Jenny Greenly has been everybody's best friend or, like her REAL best friend called her, mayonnaise. She even helps out people with them not knowing it's her. You see, Jen is the secret advisor, Annie, who people go to to solve their personal relationships. She does the layout and the other secret thing (being Annie) for the Clayton High School Register in Clayton, Indiana. Of course, only the editor-in-chief of the newspaper and a few other administrators of the school know about the Ask Annie thing. But something very big is about to happen in the small town of Clayton.

Nineteen-year-old screen sensation Luke Striker is coming to this town to research a role for a big project coming up. So the school suggested Jenny be the one to show Luke around the school and keep this whole deal a secret. They decided for him to be a transfer student named Lucas Smith. Jen thought that Luke was going to be coming in like a week -- not the very next day! Anyway, Jen is not the type of person who gets star struck by a CELEBRITY! But I guess this was a very first for her. As she got to spend more time with Luke she seemed comfortable around him and didn't think he was one of those people who are just snotty, mean, and self-centered.

But will Luke turn out to be someone Jen didn't think he was going to be? Will she blow his cover with a little mistake or will Luke manage to do that on his own? Find out!

This book is so awesome! It's just so many things happening that you feel like you're totally in the moment! I personally think that Meg Cabot's books are really good and just right on with the every day life of teens. This book deserves a total of 5 Stars and a Gold Award.

Reviewed by: Spreeha
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2004
I'm so glad that I bought this book! It's a fab story about Jenny Greenley and her struggle to juggle everything in her life - she happens the agony aunt of her school paper and writing the 'Dear Annie' column means she is privy to many secrets and juicy pieces of gossip. However, to ensure confidentiality she is not allowed to reveal her true identity and things get really interesting when the hottest heart-throb in teen America, Luke Striker lands in her school complete with 'secret' identity and Jenny is asked to take care of him and its just gets really funny! I loved the way as Jenny's confidence grows so do the people around her, and we get some hilarious results! Even if the book wasn't so brilliant I'd read it just because of the choir Jenny joins and the laugh out loud scenes done so skillfully by the ever fab Meg Cabot!
I'd reccomend this to all Meg Cabot fans,people with a fun sense of humour who are looking for a book that will make them laugh and cheer at the same time!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2005
Lets face it, these days a decent romance is difficult to find. Yet here it is. This book has such great characters and situations that it is impossible to put down. Jenny Greenley is an average girl in America when a famous film star comes to her school to work on his next role. Of course he's really gorgeous and all the girls fall for him BUT DON'T THINK THIS FOLLOWS THE STANDARD STORYLINE!!! Meg Cabot has created a wonderful story that is utterably readable and perfect for a summer on the beach.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
The following review was written by my 12 year old daughter...............
Teen Idol sounded really weird when I read the review but it god me intregued to I downloaded it on my kindle, I surprised myself and really enjoyed reading it, there are lots of twists and loads of awwwwwwww moments I really loved the character Jenny and I really like her relationship with Scott but I won't give away anything else you'll have to read the book.........................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
Teen Idol is typical Meg Cabot and sometimes in life, what you need is Meg Cabot - that mix of teen romance, comedy and a healthy dose of wish fulfillment. Cabot's heroines are usually girls who get to live something you've only dreamt about, and after a girl who discovers she's a princess (Mia in The Princess Diaries) and another who saves the life of the president (Sam in All-American Girl), we have Jenny, a girl who gets to show America's hottest movie star around town.

Surprisingly, Luke Striker, the actor pretending to be a high school student, turns out to be only a subplot of Teen Idol. The main story is that of Jenny's character development. Jenny is the resident nice girl of Clayton High; everyone's friend, helper and shoulder to cry on. Only Jenny's so concerned with being nice to other people, that she never does what she wants. She does things to please others and never makes waves - even when it comes to the guy she likes.

Another surprise - Luke Striker is not Jenny's love interest! His role in Jenny's life is that of a fairy godmother - he shakes her up, sprinkles some fairy dust and encourages her to go for what she wants. I really enjoyed this twist and Jen and Luke's friendship is awfully sweet. The real love interest, Scott, is another of Meg Cabot's cute, geeky boys. He and Jenny talk about fantasy books and sci-fi movies and why was there never a boy like that in my school?

If you know Meg Cabot, you already know what Teen Idol will be like - like a fabulous romantic comedy for teenage girls. Teen Idol is good, frothy fun and the growth that Jen goes through is actually pretty interesting and has a nice message behind it. An easy read for when you want to remember your teen years as much sweeter, prettier and happier than they actually were.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2005
I dont want to right too much about this book - 'cos i dont want 2 spoil it. All I'm going to say is that it is really great and most teenagers will absolutely love it. It's about an average teenager - she is not the 'teen idol'. Everyone wil love it. I hope you get it - it is amazing!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
one of the best books i have ever read in my life. u cant put it down! i read it in 2 days and i only put it down that night because i couldnt keep my eyes open. Meg Cabot is my favourite auther of all time and i would recomend it to teens everwhere (girls i mean). jen is wound up in Luke's secret while she still has to get on with her normal life and keep doing what she does. Luke helps her she something she has never seen before and the book is witty, charming and captivating. a nice twist! well done Meg Cabot!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2005
this book was great i couldn't put it down. the book is base on the fact that jen greenley can keep anything a screat. she can soll anyoine problems and wont talk about it anyone. but can she keep quite about that the hollywood teen heart trob is coming to there school, and to top it off he folows her around for two weeks!!!!! well of course she can but it the prosses she find her self. with her been the only one that know his screat Luke talk to jen. while watch her thought he fiund that she hiding the obility to be greater then she is. there a romantyic twist which you might or might guess half way thought but in the end it works out great i'll not spoil it for you thoughth. Happy reading!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2005
I'm a BIG fan of Meg Cabot and this is now my all time fave book. Jen is a sophmore whom everyone likes and trusts, but she doesn't have a bf. When asked to show round teen heart throb Luke Striker - undercover - Jen agrees and he stays by her side for TWO WEEKS ! Her best friend Trina, - whom has a bf but adores Luke - ... well read it for yourself and find out ! lol. Trust me ... you won't regret reading this book !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
I enjoyed this book. It is very relatable and Meg had some good ideas when writing it. BEWARE, SPOILERS!! One thing I dislike about it, is how Luke ends up with Geri. I find this really odd, and it actually bugged me. Also, it kind of makes being a good person, friend to most people, at school, seem bad. Besides from those two things, it was great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here