Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2005
Although this books begins almost as a conventional history of journalism and newspapers - as good as that is - it soon moves on to a much more intersting mix of personal story and insider account of political journalism, newspaper editorship and broadcast journalism. Once there, all the personality and insight that made Marr's TV work as BBC political editor shines through.
A great read for budding journalists, broadcasters and politicians everywhere.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
This is a thoroughly enjoyable personal history of journalism, written by the then BBC Political Editor, and former editor of the Independent, Andrew Marr.

My Trade certainly delivers on its promise to provide ”A Short History of British Journalism”, but rather than delivering a dry journalistic history, Marr injects copious amounts of humour and panache. He provides many personal anecdotes – some longer and more developed than others, but all entertaining – and passes judgement on developments in the media world, rather than merely reporting their occurence. The personal touch makes the copy much more engaging, and prevents it descending into a super-extended newspaper feature, like so many other books by journalists.

Anybody interested in British journalism would be well advised to read a copy of this book. It provides much background on how newspapers are put together, and how this has changed over the years. It even provides some history on the rivalries between newspapers, looking at (as an example) how The Mirror’s sales declined at the hands of The Sun, and how Marr’s own Independent set out to be different from everyone else, but ended up being much the same.

This is not intended to be – and nor is it – a detailed history of the development of the British media. Instead, it’s an enjoyable romp through the subject, stopping off at points of interest – particularly recent ones, and many of which you’d have thought he may have liked to avoid. He goes into some detail about Hutton and the problems of modern journalism, making convincing arguments for his point of view – which is, in part, critical of his BBC paymaster. It’s very clear from his writing that he’s experienced as a journalist, not just because he lists his many and varied jobs, but also because of the detailed insight he is able to deliver, and the apparent wisdom of some of his comments.

Certainly, this is a very easy-going enjoyable read, from a political editor who comes across as an affable kind of chap, and a book which I must highly recommended.

This review originally posted on [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
I picked this book up as a soon-to-be journalist hoping to get an inside look at my future trade from one of its heavyweights, and I was not disappointed. Andrew Marr has had an diverse career in journalism as writer, editor and broadcast journalist, and he offers unflinching insights into each of these aspects of the trade.

He seamlessly inserts his own memoirs and anecdotes into a more general history of British journalism and, although the overall tone is neutral, he does not hesitate to offer honest commentary on the problems and challenges faced by the trade. Overall it is an honest, entertaining and witty account which I would recommend to anyone.

My only slight criticism is that there is fairly heavy focus on newspapers. There are shorter sections on TV and radio journalism, but almost nothing on agencies or online media.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
I like Andrew Marr but I didn't find this book terribly interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Although very interesting, at times fascinating, in itself, this book was ruined for me by the regular, although not all-pervasive, use of the colloquial style that Marr uses to such marvellous effect on TV, but which did not, for me, lend itself at all to a medium using only the written word. Without the visual and auditory cues (facial gestures, grimaces, hand and body movements, accents etc...) that Marr uses for emphasis, mood-setting, emotional import and so on on TV, the frequent use of a heavily clipped, abbreviated, colloquial delivery often fails to make written sense: I found myself having to read many sentences/passages repeatedly, each incident creating greater irritation.

Further, the absence of decent grammar and punctuation in the style was compounded by typos and plain bad English of a more regular kind. In all, I have rarely read such a poorly edited book (relative to author and subject matter). I finally gave up two-thirds of the way through.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
With my trade, Marr has created a book that sheds light on all the secrets of the trade that journalists ply. He also recommends several other books (from which he takes examples)and will leave you feeling like you are in for a lifetime of reading. I've already ordered a copy of the book which deals with an editor-in-chief's sacking at the hands of Rupert Murdoch. Marr is not only an expert on his own profession, but also the most well read in the subject.

He is also brutally honest, and can leave you feeling a little cold when he describes the ultimate aim of most journalists. The book at times is also very funny - from being sacked to being hired to being sacked again, but what amazes most is how Marr has condensed his experiences into such a tightly written little book that will keep you up to the early hours.

Fantastic stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
I recently brought a book for university, the book My Trade: by Andrew Marr, was in really good condition, all pages intactc couldnt be better and I have found it really useful for my university course. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2011
Although scholarly in approach, research and historical accuracy, it is not scholarly in tone; it is an enjoyable, relatively undemanding read but full of fascinating insights into history and journalism by someone who is very familiar with both.
He manages to maintain that journalistic objectivity so many strive for but fail to attain, particularly in these days of tabloid, sensationalist journalism. He learned his trade well from established, well-known and respected journalists at a time when it was considered a profession and he continues the tradition.
Well worth the time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Crammed with info and delivered at speed in typical Marr style. Always interesting and with great insight honed over years of experience and obviously good research and knowledge of his craft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
A very interesting narrative, told in Marr's irreverent and inimitable style, that gives a potted history of how journalism came about, and his own personal career in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)