Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2017
lots of make-believe mythical creatures, lots of to & fro, from 2 places which is not obvious.
not great for young readers. Paragraphs jump between places without a change in style/font/heading which was hard for my 8 year old to understand. I started re-reading it with him cos he said 'i don't get it' and a few times I was caught out and saying "oh, hang on, we've now jumped back to the first place and the other lot of people!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
Some say this was the original Harry Potter. (But even if it was the Harry Potter series of reading that we now know, Love and enjoy has given the Children and Adults of the modern world the Joy of starting or re-starting reading books with a good story line).

but after reading This little book you could get the feeling that maybe the Lovely and talented Miss Rowling just maybe may have read this little book when she was a small child, and enjoyed it so much that it buried its self in her Sub-conscience. probably not , but its a nice whimsical thought.

but all i know my neice did seem to have enjoyed it and so did I :-)
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
For school, easy and efficient service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Nice read, not a smash like Harry Potter.
Can see where JK Rowling got some of her ideas though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Granddaughter loved it. Delivered on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
ithe first Eva invites book I have read, maginative writhing, lovely descriptions of the characters, and and enjoyable flow when reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I gave this book a 3 out of 5 because I'm don't really like adventure books. My favourite part was the end it was really kind and caring. The worst part was when Raymond scoffed a ice cream down and demanded more. It sounded disgusting!!!#ugly. I would recommend this book to people(adults and children) who love adventure books. Happy reading everyone .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2004
Years before J K Rowling invented Platform nine and three quarters, IvaI bbotsen created her wonderful book: ‘The Secret of Platform 13,’ about asecret portal beneath a railway station leading to a mystical island kingdom far, far away. Unfortunately, this portal (or gump) only opens briefly once every nine years … and last time it opened the king and queen’s newborn baby was stolen. Now the royal family send four islanders to rescue their son: An elderly wizard, a magical fey, an invisible ogre and a young hag. Unfortunately, the now nine-year-old prince doesn’t want to be rescued.
The writing is a sheer delight, describing the fantastical characters with such charm that they are easy to visualise and become utterly believable.This book is perfect for 8 – 9 year-olds to read on their own – or would make a great bedtime story read nightly to 6 – 7 year-olds. It’s exciting, magical, mysterious … but best of all, there’s nothing too frightening and plenty to make you laugh out loud!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
don't remember anything about this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 22 April 2002
Because years before Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone was written, Eva Ibbotson thought up the same story. At platform 13 of King's Cross there's the opening to a magical world of witches, hags, giants and creatures called mistmakers which puff out mist when they hear music, so keeping their island refuge secret. The King and Queen of the island have a little prince born to them, but when his three nannies take him through the gump to enjoy fish-and-chips, he gets kidnapped by the rich and horrible Mrs. Trottle. Nine years must pass before the little Prince can be rescued. But when the rescue party (consisting of a wizard, a gardening witch, and ogre and a little hag, Odge) arrive in our world they find Raymond Trottle a gross spoilt bully. Only the despised odd-job boy, who is as nice as Raymond is nasty, will help them....
A gloriously funny quest with an ending that brings tears to the eyes. We particularly enjoyed the Mrs. Thatcher-style harpies who knock out enemies with their disgusting handbags.
11 Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here