Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 December 2016
Loved this back in the day and loved this now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I first read this in 1980 when my school had a 'private' stash of books for the 4th and 5th year (year 10-11) girls. Very appropriate for that age group - back then anyway. As previous reviews have mentioned, it covers lots of topics that young adults don't want to discuss with their parents (or teachers).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 March 2003
This book will live on for generations. I remember when I was a teen, Forever was notorious and every girl read it even if their parents forbade them to buy a copy.
The reason why it is different from other books that are aimed at a teenage audience is because Blume doesn't patronise her readers. Instead she explores at full depth, the feelings, emotions and physical aspects of "first love".
I think that the biggest mistake made by parents is the assumption that this book is porn for teenagers. Yes there is detailed references to sex, but it's certainly not gratuitous and if anything it's more likely to teach teens that sex isn't about getting cheap thrills.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
* I have been given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

It’s been far too long since I read a book by Judy Blume. I remember reading several as a youngster, but the one that really sticks in my mind is Blubber. That chocolate ant scene has always stayed with me! I was really excited when Forever came up on NetGalley as it was the perfect excuse to get back into a bit o’ Blume.

What I loved about Forever was how real it felt: from the awkward beginnings of the relationship, to the intense obsession and the surety that you’re going to be together forever (no matter what your parents say) to that moment when you realise that forever doesn’t always mean forever at that age. I know I’ve been there when I was 17, and I think that’s part of the charm of the book: it’s so relatable, for someone older who can remember that time with some some fondness, and for someone who’s going through that exact situation and needs to know that it doesn’t matter if your forever doesn’t work out.

In the beginning, I struggled a little with the ages of the characters. They sometimes felt a little younger than the age I realised they were supposed to be. But I think this could also be due to the fact that it’s American and I’m not sure what grade equals what age.

I know this book caused a bit of a storm when it originally came out and I can only imagine what kind of effect it would have had on me then. As it was, the sexual content wasn’t too shocking for me, but this is 30 years on and I’m an adult and we live in the era of Fifty Shades of Grey…

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I think it’s a real recommended read for any teenager, or a slightly older ‘teenager’ wanting to relive a memorable part of their youth.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 January 2008
The fact that this book has been in print for so long is perhaps a testament to Judy Blume and her talents as a writer for younger people. Although I am now in my late twenties, I remember being at school and hearing about this book from a friend of mine, who said that I must read it (mainly for the sex)!
I suppose, considering who the audience is for this piece of work, the fact that titillation shall perhaps be the main reason for picking it up is to be expected - teenagers are always going to remain curious, and so they should. Yet, considering that all those years have passed, but teenagers of today are still choosing this book, shows that perhaps there is more than just sexy writing within this piece of literature for young adults.
For myself, the honesty that Blume exhibited within her writing was the reason I read the whole book, not just the juicy bits. At that time of life, when you are eager to learn about love and the sexual side of relationships, for someone to have the guts to give you an honest insight into what that might mean for a relationship, is a very empowering thing. But it is interesting that, although I tried reading other pieces by Blume, no other book by her managed to hold my attention!
While I am sure that young girls shall remain to turn to this book in order to read about sex, I hope that they also consider the wider message that the book tries to put across - that 'forever' at such a tender age is such a long time, and that people can change, their hearts can change, but that this is all part of love sometimes too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 1999
The story begins well, and certainly makes you read on as I did. When at a New Years Eve party, Katherine meets a boy...Michael. She starts off hating Michael because she thinks he's some sleezy guy trying to pull her at a New Year party. But what Katherine does'nt know is that soon, she would grow to love Michael. After months of " No..not tonight Michael." Kath and Michael make love.Can the intense relation ship stand a chance when Kath's dad forces poor Kath to be a tennis coach at summer camp? Will Michael find another girl? Find out when you read Forever....
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2001
I have had a copy of Forever by Judy Blume since 1986, when I was 14. I thought I'd lost the book, but then found it again whilst cleaning up the house. I have since re-read it twice, and even though I'm now older, it still has the same charming qualities about it, and is an addictive read for all ages. It was also a humorous book when I was 13, mainly because my Dad is called Ralph. Readers of Forever will understand what I mean by that!! Brilliant read. Recommend it to everyone - young or old.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2002
I'm 14... Old enough for some things, not old enough for others..I think one of the things I'm old enough to know is about sex and first love. Although, things like TV, friends, and my mom, helped me answer some questions, I was never satisfied. I had so many question about what first love was like or what's it like to my virginity? This book answered all my questions and I a person who will never read and only use sparknotes,read this book in two days! I read it on the way home from school on the bus and late at night. I didn't care what people thought because this is the best book and now it's my favorite!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
I actualy love this book, even thought its over 30 years since its been writen, the issues in the book havn't chanaged. I can completely relate to what Kath goes through.
I so wanted it to work out between them, and it all be okay, but thats not how real life works, and its not how the book is.
But, saying that , its not like the book had one of them horrible soppy ending , its just how real life is.
A definite read for anyone 12 upwards, and i only say 12 upwards because some of the scenes in the book are a little explicit.
A timeless book, well wortth reading.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
I'm nearing 43 but can remember this book causing such a controversy at my secondary school. The girls in my year had it booked out of the school library one after each other until our year head heard all about it! She was a matronly woman who was 'disgusted' by it and it was promptly banned from school!
It was such a massive shame as I remember the book teaching my friends and I a lot about sex and relationships, as well as being fantastically written by the almighty Judy Blume!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here