Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 December 2014
Disappointed with the trilogy of Alexander - something missing -A huge history and history novel fan but books lacked - not sure what, although Ides of March was very good - if you want good history novels go for Conn Iggulden - Emperor and Conquerer series are EPIC!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2015
This Trilogy is the most gripping historical novel I have read, fascinating to realise how young Alexander was to achieve all he did and the breadth of distance covered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2018
Awesome book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2014
A good item and would use them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2013
Five starts out of five because this novel is simply fantastic. A joy to read. The consitions of the book were great too and fast delivery :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2001
This is the second book in the trilogy telling of the life of Alexander the Great - I've bought them all! I bought the first book (Child of a Dream), somewhat by accident. I wasn't sure if this would appeal to me - action books are more my scene. I was blown away, stacks of action, but with a historic context and with plenty of human insight and intrigue.
This book continues where the first left off, Alexander starts his quest to conquer Asia, ruled by the Persians, and we follow his progress all the way to Egypt. In the process, we learn about his most respected adversary Memnon, and Memnon's wife Barsine - later to become Alexander's lover. The story unfolds at breath-taking pace; this is truly a book you won't be able to put down.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2006
Few authors can be better equipped to write about the history of ancient Greece and Rome than Valerio Massimo Manfredi. Professor of archaeology at the university of Milan, he has carried out many excavations and expeditions in the Mediterranean region. He has produced many factual books on historical matters, mainly military and has still found the time to write several novels and this is one of the best of them.

This book is the second of a triology about probably the greatest warrior and general who has ever lived, bearing in mind that Alexander died at an age when most men are only just starting to make their mark in life. Alexander is of course one of histories most colourful and well know character. Even people with little or not interest in ancient history will have heard of Alexander, a charismatic and larger than life figure.

In this second novel the author turns his attention to Alexander's Persian campaigns focussing on the battles between Alexander's forces and the rival general Memnon of Rhodes. Alexander knows in his heart that his superior troops will carry the battle but he can't help feeling admiration for his opponents courage.

The sudden death of Memnon from a mystery illness makes for an anticlimactic end to their battles but allows the conqueror to claim Barsine, the beautiful wife of Memnon. Alexander's next challenge is to face the Tyrian navy as they attempt to block his advance into Egypt . . .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2014
Excellent narrative of Alexander's completion of the conquest of Asia Minor and march to Egypt. It is a mix of historical fact and writers imagination which does manage to conjure up some drama and an impression of what it was like in Alexander's inner circle. There is one large siege and another large battle against the Persians as the large set pieces which underpin the narrative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2008
This book is the best in an excellent trilogy and has all the main action and adventure from Alexanders peak. Once again the seamless blend of fact and fiction takes you back thousands of years and draws you into a world so amazing you find it hard to believe, but is so well done that you do not question it. This set of books is a must read, even for people who are not usually historical fiction fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2011
I have always been a fan of Manfredi's work and this book is Manfredi at his best. The characters are portrayed in a most magnificent manner and the battle scenes are very detailed without overdoing it. A most enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here