Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
219
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Master and Margarita
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 April 2017
I'm not sure how I've managed to miss this surreal satirical masterpiece until now - but many thanks to Nick from the Station book group for choosing it. How did he get books and plays like this past Pravda and the other apparatus of state censorship? It's interesting to contrast Bulgakov's and Shostakovich's experiences of struggling to survive and work under Stalin.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Bizarre, bonkers and wonderful. This is the only Russian author that I have found who writes with wit, clarity, precision and satirically. Supremely clever story, fast-paced (unusual with Russians IMHO), thought provoking and, in places, hilarious. The characters of the Devil and his side-kicks are simply glorious, the plots and different lens on Pontius Pilate and his associates are brilliant. Overall a mind-bending and mind-expanding book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Great satire with some hilarious scenes, ironic and sarcastic dark humor. The Russian names never are easy to remember and to distinct from each other but with some attention it's no problem to follow the characters. Really worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Any lover of Russian literature must read this book. I was entranced from beginning to end. At one moment seemingly factual and then another, utterly confusing and disturbing. Meet Christ and the devil in one book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Could not stop reading for a whole week this richly worded and unprecedented story. Somewhere Baudelaire's poem Litany to Satan came to mind: "O grandest of the Angels, and most wise, O fallen God, fate-driven from the skies, Satan, at last take pity on our pain ..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
A dazzling,surreal masterpiece,part religious allegory,part political satire and with elements of autobiography;in that the Master's artistic neglect mirrors Bulgakov's own experience as a maverick writer in Stalinist Russia
Any deficiencies in the translation would seem trivial,when set against the difficulty of learning Russian!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
completely bonkers. Close your mind to the world you know and immerse yourself in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
One of my favourite books of all time. Got it as a Christmas present for my partner. I think it will be ideal. It is great to share the best things with the ones you love. I recommend it for everyone who likes good literature.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
Lovely edition. One of the better covers, nice red textile binding underneath the sleave. Good size and clear print.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Beautiful edition, and great translation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse