Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 January 2014
A great help in understanding and solving the cryptic crossword. Explains each type of crossword clue with plenty of samples crosswords. Would recommend to anybody wanting to master the cryptic crossword,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Very good little book. Lots of hints and tips. For some time I used to do a lot of the standard crosswords, but after a while I wanted to stretch myself with cryptic crosswords. Other than being able to put together a few anagrams that was my limit. This book gives a lot of pointers. I have improved my understanding of the clues and am very pleased with the progress. I have now invested in other books such as Bradford's Cossword Solver's Dictionary and the Chambers Crossword Dictionary amongst others. It's a great help to have these books to hand but, most importantly, trying to solve the crosswords on a very regular basis is key.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 1999
I've been desperately trying to crack the world of cryptic crosswords and now it's possible! As a project manager, this book helped me to take a methodical approach to tackling the otherwise daunting crossword and proved that it's all based on logic, not intelligence.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
This book arrived promptly on the 3rd of December, so I have no complaint about waiting for it! It does everything it says on the cover.
It is full of handy hints on what cryptic clues are really asking you to do. With plenty of worked examples. It is a boon to the budding cruciverbalist! It is also helpful to more seasoned crossword fanatics. Altogether, a worthwhile buy and excellent value for the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
This book is just brilliant. Anyone who likes cryptic crosswords but gets frustrated with clues should read this book. There lots of crosswords with explanations as to how the clues are complied. Can't recommend this book enough, just buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
A great book, with great exercises and series of crosswords of different levels. Well worth buying if you want to get into cryptic. It was the first book where I saw a little of the light!! Thank You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
well laid out book, with exercises after each section. Still struggling with cyptics but I can now recognise how the compiler is thinking.
worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
This solved the problem of finding a fill-in present for a crossword addict relation! Yet another good find in the Amazon catalogue - ..............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
This was ordered for someone else as I already have a copy and have enjoyed solving all the crosswords with Val Gilbert's very useful advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I purchased this book as a gift and it went down extremely well with the recipient who is a crossword fan. They found it very helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)