Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2013
My first go at Cormac McCarthy. Absolutely spell binding. Couldn't get enough. So now for the rest of his books. Can't wait!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Harsh but beautiful at the same time. transports you somewhere totally different and you feel you are part of it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
As always with McCarthy, I'm overcome with awe as his writing and horrified by some of the content - but the awe wins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2008
This novel depicts both a physical journey and a metaphorical one. The motivation of Cole to travel to the borderlands was born largely from naiveté and a belief that to travel away from his hometown could be the solution to his problems. However, although the journey did enable him to reconcile some of his problems such as his dislike for the modern world encroaching on his traditional one, it was at the expense of his belief that his efforts would make a difference to his life in some way. The metaphorical journey from innocence to experience solved the problem of his romanticism by instilling him with the belief that life is transient and existence essentially futile. The importance of borderlands in this text is concerned more with the metaphysical line between childhood and its end than with the geography of the experience. The journey from naïf to manhood could have taken place in any part of the world but the idyllic representations of the borderlands had to be experienced by Grady in order to be demystified and made real. A great novel that benefits from a second read to identify and appreciate the symbolism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
wonderfully written. i felt that i was there sleeping under the stars and taking the pain along with the guys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2000
This book has a strange title. The first of a trilogy, this book concerns one of the characters, the second another, and the two are brought together in the third. John Grady Cole, the hero, and his friends leave home at an early age and seek work on the ranches of Mexico. Here he finds love and also suffers much injustice and lawlessness, growing in character and stature the while. Many authors make the mistake of going into too much description, or expatiate about their characters emotions. McCarthy never does this; his prose is spare and basic, and describes only what you would have seen had you been there, never the thoughts or feelings of the characters. Nevertheless the landscape comes vividly before you and you do come to understand and care about the characters. Brad Pitt has just the right voice for it, sort of soft and smokey, with an accent you can imagine the characters using. Once or twice his intonation made me wonder if he completely understood what he was reading, but generally a good impression.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Compelling but not immediately accessible .Recommended and ultimately uplifting story about human spirit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I really enjoyed this. I didn't expect to, but it really drew me in. Will read part 2 and likely part 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
A great story but as with other McCarthy tales, doesn't have a 'happy ending'. Gritty, realistic and brutal but sadly, didn't leave me feeling uplifted by man's endeavours. Also, you really need to speak Spanish to be able to understand some of the dialogue. In frustration, I was forced to read my copy in front of my PC using Google translator, not ideal! However, I did read the other two books in the trilogy, in the hope that there was ventually some glimmer of happiness. Forget it. If possible, Book Three was even more gloomier that the other two,(and contained even more Spanish). If you want harsh reality, these books are for you. If you like your novels a little sweeter, my advice is, read something else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Surprisingly interesting book club read. Recommend fir something differeny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.29

Need customer service? Click here