Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2013
A work, by a master of words and feelings. Bujold pulls you in and holds you rapt from first to last word. Every Vorkosigan book does it to you. Shards of Honor preceeds Barrayar and is a must, both should be read before the remaining books about Miles Vorkosigan.
Each book can and does stand alone, but, once you are hooked, and you WILL be, you will want to read them in order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Good world-building
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
Barrayar follows on immediately from Bujold's earlier Shards of Honor, and continues the trials and tribulations of Cordelia Vorkosigan (nee Naismith) and her new husband Aral, suddenly-appointed regent of the eponymous world.

We follow Cordelia as she struggles to adjust to Aral's new responsibilities, her own unique place in Barrayaran society, and the beginnings of her pregnancy with their first child. Barrayar is far different from her own home, with a strictly stratified class structure, extreme notions of war and honour and a resistance to change.

Not all of Barrayar is happy with Aral's appointment, nor his proposed reforms, and soon the story shifts to encompass both political intrigue and the threat of violence. A midstory event (which I won't spoil here) changes everything, and soon Cordelia must risk everything to save what she cares about.

This book is beautifully written, with Bujold giving each character their own distinct voice and motivations. She is equally adept with moving character scenes and tense action sequences.

Cordelia in particular is probably the most human character I have read in a SF book in a long time. She is sympathetic throughout, as she deals with an antagonistic father-in-law, the romantic frustrations of her friends/staff and the turmoil of the disturbed armsman Bothari.

I haven't gone into too much detail on the twists and turns of the plot, because part of the enjoyment comes with the surprises the book throws up. But I would heartily recommend it to anyone who enjoyed Shards of Honor, or indeed anyone who enjoys their science fiction with humanity, thoughtfulness and wit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The book (without giving away too much in the way of spoilers!): second instalment in the Vorkosigan saga: Cordelia, offworlder, has married Aral Vorkosigan and settles into a quiet estate life - when Aral gets saddled with an important task by the Emperor. Before she knows it Cordelia is leading a high-profile Barrayar life, still astounded by quaint and plain weird Barrayaran customs - and making her imprint, too. What she cannot change is the bloody revolution the Vorkosigan family becomes embroiled in, and she and her unborn child become important pawns in the highest of political stakes.

The author: Lois McMaster Bujold has written several series of books (including the Vorkosigan Saga, of which is the second part, and consisting of a series of full-length books as well as short stories) and several stand-alone novels. She has won the Hugo four times, as well as the Nebula twice, the Mythopoeic Award, the World Fantasy Award, and recently the Skylark Award.

My opinion: Bujold can write like a dream, and this is another example of her class. I am a sucker for her style, her imagination, and her personalities: vivid, fully three-dimensional, many things implied and not spelled out completely; humor, love, and a consistent Universe (well, kind of anyway). She writes with *feeling*, with soul; and manages to convey that so you feel a lot of the personalities' grief, fury, fear and joy. She can bring tears to my eyes, too - a rare writer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
I am in love with this universe. Everything that happens feels well timed and words are not wasted.

I'm fortunate to be able to read them in the order the author has recommended, and Barrayar has been as entertaining as the previous two books.

The development of the characters is well done and doesn't come across as unrealistic; they grow with each encounter and we see something new or surprising at pivotal moments.

A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I came to the brilliantly plotted Lois Mcmaster Bujold universe through a complement to her clear, wonderfully vibrant prose.
That is apparent as soon as you start reading (start with Shards of Honour)
You will not be able to stop reading until you have read them all.
Genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2010
I love everything about the Miles Vorkosigan series and this prelude tells the story of Miles' birth and the events that lead to his unusual development. Fantastic.Barrayar (Vorkosigan)Barrayar (Vorkosigan)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Love it. I'm working my way through this series and will definitely go on to Bujold's other books/series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2016
Outstanding storyteller with clever, elegant prose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
I greatly enjoyed this book. Marvellous writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse