Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Mastering the Model Shoot is a front-to-back guide on how to set up a shoot, work with the model, light, pose and execute the images, post-process them and sell them. It's written for people who are photographic professionals, who aspire to be, or who are very, very serious amateurs.

As such there is much more about marketing, building up a portfolio, work flow, colour calibration and solving problems than in other books on the same subject. Commensurately, there is no information about how to buy your first camera, how to focus it and what to do when it stops working: it isn't that kind of book.

If you quite fancy shooting some nice pictures of models and getting to know your camera equipment better, then I recommend Photographing Models: 1,000 Poses. If you want to earn money from photography, be taken seriously in the profession and land some big gigs, then I recommend this one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I own quite a few photography related books and buy regular magazines always looking for something a bit different. This book is something different it contains such a wealth and depth of detail it is a must for the serious amateur and budding professional. The images in the book I think are worth the price alone. There is so much good content from ideas, lighting advice, general advice on the full process. And again there is so much inspiration from the images.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
This is a great book. Targeting photographers that already know how to handle a camera. I would say every photographer could learn from these tutarials. I work freelance and have picked up a few good pointers already. The writing style of Frank Doorhof is easy going and engaging. I wish I had this book years ago. There are some fantastic tips, too. If your looking to get creative with portraits. This will give you insperation. If your looking for guide lines to managing a shoot. This will give you a good understanding. If your looking to get things right in camera and cut back on Photoshop work. The answers are here. Plenty of techi settings and good advice. Frank Doorhof's creative images within the book, show his talent. A must have book for any photographer.
P R Imaging
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Most photography books repeat the same old stuff.Frank Dorhof is great at showing you his own unique tips and wants you to develop your own style.He really knows the technical details,especially metering light for the best results and explains things in an easy to understand way.I would highly recommend this book of you want to go beyond the basics.Frank gives good free advice on his web pages too,it is obvious he's a real photography enthusiast.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
If you buy one book on photography this year buy Frank's

This is so NOT the usual collection of pictures, lighting diagrams and kit lists which is the norm for this type of book.
Crammed full of great tips and insight in a clear, open and well written format. There is a wide range of subjects covered from different light sources, locations, studio, model casting and best practices.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
I have to be honest and say I don't read most books word by word. I skim read them to get the essence of what they are talking about.

However I read this book in detail and liked the balance of theory and help and advice.

Good book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Well laid out book, a very informative read, and good to refer to for both studio and outdoors. What it does show you is really ordinary backgrounds and locations with a little thought can produce some really excellent portrait photography, really pleased I purchased it, no frills, just facts
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Frank has a very distinctive style and the images in the book reflect that. The words however are aimed at encouraging the photographer to develop their own style and do not come across as instructions to only achieve a style similar. Good practical advice covers everything from the technical aspects of a shot to ideas on how great images can be created from simple objects with some imagination. At the moment I have set myself a project of photographing models and a length of brown paper that was in padding in a delivery box.

The reader is left with the impression that you have just had a chat with an experienced photographer that has given some excellent advice and tips that are intended as pointers on the road to creativity rather an end in themselves. Trying to recreate the shots described would be a good starting point but the impression the book gives is that it is a starting point, and a very good one at that, rather than the end of the creative journey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I've read a number of books about model shoots, styling a shoot and lighting one. This is without a doubt the best one I've come across. The biggest reason why isn't just the fact that Frank has taken to time to set down a lot of his creative process and that of the team he works with. It's the fact he is very honest about the troubles you may encounter, and the curve balls that any shoot has with them, he also outlines ways of taking such unknowns and making use of them. The book is very in depth, but using a plain speaking way of describing things, it also leaves out a lot of the pretentious BS that some photographers add in their books. There is nothing of the "here is a shot only I could take." kind of attitude you will find in other books. There are sections on everything and to the point tips that will impact on the way you shoot the next time you have a set, lights and model to shoot stood in front of you.
I bought this and I got it for my kindle too so I can have it as a reference when I'm traveling

If you're keen on upping your game with your photography, buy this book, read it and use the knowledge you gain from it. I have and it worked for me..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
A very informative read delivered in easy to understand language. You won't find any technical jargon here. Instead Frank gives the benefit of his experience and a host of tips that leave you scratching your head and wondering why you haven't been using them for years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)