Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 September 2017
This is ESSENTIAL for web people and all those who deal with them.

READ THIS BOOK IF: you need quick tips for building a useful, functional website with clear copy. You run a business and are setting up a content team. You work in any department and wonder why you're at odds with the digital team.

I'm a content writer and this is a must-have for any - EVERY -digital media professional. Especially those of you having to regularly defend your decisions to a business that cares not for UX... guess that's all of you, then!

This book needs updating more often, but the fact that it can get away with a once-a-decade refresh shows that wisdom is timeless. It shows that the user-centred approach wins out over pure design and copy flights of fancy, and capricious business whims, every time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2017
Even the author says that this book just states the bleedin' obvious and he's not wrong. But it articulates it well and prescribes practical ideas for what to do with that 'obvious'.

If you produce any content or design that is seen by other people then you should read this book. Even if you're already doing half of what it suggests, there will still be something in it of value.

I can't believe I took so long to buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2008
Everything this book says is just common sense. When designing websites, it's easy to lose sight of the fact that people will actually be using your published work! How many times have you been to a site only to think "where's the search box" or when entering some details into your online bank account and then press the "enter key" it doesn't login, it goes off to a "apply for a new savings account". Very confusing. In these circumstances, your brain has to think about what has happened, leaving a negative impression in your mind. Not good if you're trying to sell something!

When it comes to the web, first impressions count. Take Amazons new redesign for 2008. Amazon gets quite a lot of coverage in the book as an example of good design, so it's interesting that they have gone away from their old design, that's been around for about a decade. I don't like the new look, because every time I use it I have to think whereas before it was intuitive. That's the whole point of "dont make me think". You should never have to think about how to use a web site. If you need to use your brain to do something simple, the designer has FAILED.

"Dont make me think" is a quick and easy read. It's quite small at 200 pages. It's often reduced on Amazon so keep an eye out for a bargain.

Highly recommended for all developers, even if you don't often do user interfaces. The advice can be applied to all interfaces and not just the web.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 March 2010
This is the best book on the subject that I have ever read. It points out the very kinds of usability issues that I, as someone who has worked in this area of business, has tried and failed to make developers understand.

It makes a very simple point - by designing a web user interface that is logical, simple, clear, intuitive, helpful and robust, people will find them easier to use, have fewer problems, will need less documentation/help, will come back, and will have a positive view of you and your products.

It is so full of logic and startling truth, I found myself yelling "yeah!" a few times at what it had to say. To put it another way, if you think that it's focus on the obvious is, well, all too obvious for you to have not already noticed, then think again!

If there is one book I would impore developers to read (no matter what software they develop) it would be this. It should be mandatory reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2017
I firstly read it at the university and now I bought it.
Despite of the old version of the book, this book is amazing. If everybody read it once, sucking powerpoint presentation, unwatchable websites and unusable objects would disappear from earth!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2017
The quintessential book for anyone who works in IT. I'm serious. If you work in ANY capacity in an IT company (Developer, Product Owner, Designer, Manager, CTO, CEO, etc...) you need to read this book. Especially if you don't want your project to be one of the 85% of projects that fail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2016
I lead a team of web designers and buy this book for every new starter as it lays a foundation of understanding user-centric design. I highly recommend this book for enthusiasts and professionals alike as Steve Krug has a grounded way of explaining usability. His advice on usability testing on small budgets is also invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2001
This book is a real rarity amongst the breed of I.T. books - it's short!!! Whilst other authors seem to vie with each other to produce longer and longer tomes (that will probably be dipped into and then gather dust on bookshelves), Krug has broken the mould and produced a very readable book.
The book has obviously been written and put together with a great deal of care - so refreshing compared to the cavalier approach of many I.T.authors, whose books are full of typos and incorrect internal references. The text is taut and (genuinely) humourous and is illustrated in colour throughout. Credit should also go to Mark Matcho for the illustrations and cartoons.
The book keeps you firmly in the user's shoes. It is entirely non-technical, which, whilst this may disappoint the web developer looking for tips for creating the latest sexy interface effect, means that the book will appeal to a wide range of readers. Also the avoidance of current fads and fashions and the focus on timeless design principles means that the book will continue to be relevent for many years to come.
This book should be read by everyone who wants the web to be a useable and useful place. As the dust settles after the rush of hormones of the web's adolescence, you will be seeing the principles that Krug espouses in the grown-up sites of the web of the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2013
I must say that I like this book a lot.
As a software engineer, which creates both web and desktop apps, I gained a lot of valuable information.
Even though it's from 2005, I definitely recommend it to anyone.
It's very short (200 relaxed pages), thus just a weekend reading, but very nice.
I would really like a version from 2013 with some updates, but most of the things Krug talks about will never become outdated.
5+
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2008
There's no point is adding my voice to the many other positive reviews here. It's a complete no-brainer that any one involved in web site build or maintentance - be they designer, developer or business stakeholder - should read and digest this book, not just once but on a regular basis.

BUT ... is there anyone else who has found their copy of DON'T MAKE ME THINK has fallen apart within a few weeks of moderate daily use? Shouldn't a book like this be built to withstand the regular handling that the content deserves?

Or is just that I'm heavy-handed?

AM, London
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse