Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2014
It is clean, clear, and without the endless loooong descriptions of everything and nothing, so common in technical books.
Instead it's precise and to the point, without leaving important stuff out.
This guy knows his java, but equally important: He can write.

It's VERY well written !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
This little book is a surprisingly easy read. It surveys important changes to the Java programming language. Java 8 is a significant release, esp. as lambda functions, Streams & ‘default methods’ (concrete extensions to existing interfaces) have completely changed coding approaches to Java Collections. These topics are well explained. Horstmann has an obvious passion & deep understanding of the language. His explanations and examples are clear and succinct, his exercises rigorous, albeit without solutions. Being a Professor of Computer Science, he is evidently knowledgeable also about ‘Java in context’, its strengths and weaknesses for particular applications and in comparison to other languages. I found all his material a worthwhile complement to Oracle’s on-line documentation.

Still, compiler type inference (e.g. for lambdas & functional interfaces) is very impressive technology and I’d have appreciated more “under the bonnet” detailing of how it’s achieved by Java. And discussion here of JavaFX (for user interfaces) does not really do justice to this toolkit (see Vos et al. for exhaustive coverage).

Given Horstmann’s background, it’s disheartening to reach the end of his guide and see Java security concerns summarized so bleakly: “Java held great promise as a universal execution platform (but) at this point, it is no longer a viable platform for widespread distribution of client applications over the internet… Move away from it (or) make your users install (the entire Java SDK) or bundle a JVM with your installer. If you target a general audience, consider using another technology, perhaps HTML5”. His justification for such pessimism deserves greater explanation than we see here, but such views must concern Oracle’s custodians of Java. Certainly they bother me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Excellent book. Well written, concise, incredibly informative and devoid of any waffle.

This is how tech books should be written.

If you want to read about Java 8's lambda expressions, this is the book to get. It thoroughly trounces the poor quality of O'Reilly's "Java 8 Lambdas".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
So refreshing to see a tech book without the fluff, the material is useful, dense yet easy to read. Definitely recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
I've just finished this book, and have found it incredibly enjoyable, almost inspiring. I'm an experienced consultant and trainer, who still enjoys coding in Java (and other languages), very much from the perspective of what I can achieve with code. This book resonates with me because the author has maintained a laser-like focus on how to use the new Java features to solve problems in an elegant and efficient way. In particular, the book deals very effectively with the significant addition of more functional constructs to compliment the existing OO features of Java.

The structure is clear and logical. The explanations and examples are helpful, and at just the right level, neither simplistic nor over-complicated. I would recommend this book to any battle-hardened programmer who wants quickly to catch up with the improvements to Java brought by version 8. I would also suggest to Java tyros that this book would serve as a very useful supplement to more basic books or courses they might already be using.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
As good as past "the Tiger" book was for java5. Good topics, nice appendix to get java7 useful APIs as well. Streaming, lambdas introduced very well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
I am not a professional java programmer, but use java for all sorts of "fun" projects. I was keen to gain some in-depth understanding of the new facilities in Java 8 - especially lambda functions and streams. I tried various internet resources but found nothing that really gave me a complete picture of how the new features are used and how they complement each other. I took a chance on buying this book, and have not been disappointed. It covers everything I wanted to know (and much more). It includes common-sense advice coupled with intellectual rigor, and I would thoroughly recommend it for anyone wanting to quickly gain a detailed understanding of the new features in Java 8, and their usage.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
I'm very pleased that I bought this book [Kindle Edition]!
This book is just great!
Right to the point, fast examples and decent explanation of each topic.
Note: this book is not for people wanting to learning java!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Not bad. Could be a bit more well organised. I did find much better materials online for free. For example on streams http://winterbe.com/posts/2014/07/31/java8-stream-tutorial-examples/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)