Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2013
Well, I decided to buy this book in order to improve my useage of the Nik suite. And since the reviews of this book were positive, I went for it.

But it was a bad decision.

Although the author has a very light writing (very enjoyable, BTW), it's aimed to the very beginnner. Anyone that has already used the Nik suite will hardly find anything to learn from the book, even though it says "book level: beginning/intermediate". Don't fall for that!

That alone would ensure a bad review, but there're other two big issues:

1) the photos: they are VERY small throughout the book and hence very hard to see the effects suggested by the author. In order to see the effectts of using the filters we'd need much bigger photos.

2) although the book was published in 2013 the links provided by the author DO NOT lead to the stuff mentioned. Nik was sold to Google and all links redirect to a site where no add-ons are present and so on. Besides that, the author suggests that we go to his blog (or register with the publisher) to get extra templates, but there are just a bunch and most of the links to other stuff simply are not there.

All that said, why not give it just 1 star? Well, the author really has passion for his work and is able to transfer that through the pages! Besides, he writes lightly and that's ok.

This book is for people who DON'T HAVE Nik suite and are thinking on buying it or for ABSOLUTE BEGINNERS.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
A must have for anybody new (like me) to Nik plug ins - well laid out (in plug in running order) loads of tips & tactics, easy to read & straightforward.

After struggling to fully understand the booklets that come with Nik products,my photographs have improved 100%
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
As per title. A very useful guide for those new to the full suite, now available from Google. The main criticism is the woefully poor reproduction of screen grabs which makes learning a lot more difficult than the author intended. This is a book production issue and not the author's fault. Despite this impediment, I refer to the guide constantly. It speeded me up the learning curve. However, a book is not enough. There are many fine on-line videos by various authors which enrich one's learning experience.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Excellent. Each plug in is dealt with separately in plain simple English. Extra photos are available to download so you can practise the various techniques.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This book is a good starting point for working with Nik software. The inclusion of sample photos to work with is excellent. However, the book is biased towards users who also have Photoshop. Aperture and Lightroom are not included except by name. More detail is needed in each section of the book and an explanation given of the main filters and how they can be combined. There is an example in the chapter dedicated to Photoshop were the author uses filters together from three different sections of the software. For example, using the bleach bypass filter, customising it, then adding a black and white filter and finally adding a darken and lighten centre filter. More examples of how to get the most out of the filters is needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Have found better options as a paid ebook and I find the Nik website free downloads equally useful.
Not to say that the Batdorff book is poor, hence 4 stars - but , to me, there are better alternatives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I have all the Nik plug-ins for Photoshop but needed more detailed information on their use. This is an excellent guide book and well recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I have given this a 5 star because it is up there with photoshop and lightroom.
This is a plugin software that does what all the Pro,s say it does and will help you to produce fantastic pictures
Even if your only a part time hobby photographer like me.
The software is easy to use and with the aid of this book you can be up and running very quick it aim,s to make the processes very easy to understand and with the step by step guide to each plug in the author John Bandoff gets you there.
I would strongly recommend to any photographer who has NIK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Nik software is incredibly powerful and easy to use and there is excellent video material available from the Google website. I like having a book to work through (old fashioned?) and really recommend this beautiful production which provided a very complete coverage of the software and many fresh ideas for an enthusiastic amateur. Recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
I am a recent convert to the Nik selection. I initially purchased the Nik selection solely for the Silver Efex Pro2 for black and white conversion. This book is by the very accomplished photographer, John Batdorff. He explains in excellent, simple terms and above all from a photographers viewpoint. Since getting this book I have moved into the other aspects of the Nik programme such as Colour Efex Pro, HDR Efex Pro 2, Viveza 2. The Sharpener Pro 3 is incredible. This is very complimentary to Photoshop CS6
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)