Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2011
Incredibly inspiring book, must read for any ux designer. What speaks too me especially it the attitude to design. It's very positive and deep. I think reading this book really helps you to improve your attitude and become a better designer. The insights into human behavior, analysis and explanation why something works and motivates us are timeless.

What I also really liked is a style how it is written, very much as an conversation, which actually makes it very interactive and engaging to read. It's great too see the same principles described in this book applied to the book itself. You constantly kept focused and motivated through the whole book by good questions, which you directly can apply to your own projects. The book has also a very pleasant flow because of a good mix of examples, explanations, questions and interviews. The examples with many analogies to a real life are very sticky. Really something that is easy to remember and nice too share.

It's a book that you for sure will enjoy to read and reread.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2011
What is it that makes some software addictive and enjoyable to use so much of the time software feels tedious and dull? If registration forms are inherently dull, how is it that the registration process for the iLike website is so interesting that people voluntarily answer pages of extra questions? These are the kinds of questions that Stephen Anderson tackles in this beautiful, entertaining book.

I should disclose that I was one of a great many people Stephen Anderson interviewed in researching this book, so I have been fascinated to see what he made of it all. What he has done is put together an excellent collection of tips and tricks that can be used by anyone designing a website, mobile app or even mundane software like a timesheet system to get users engaged and enthused. And if you can do that then your software is more likely to be effective and popular.

Each point is backed up by a memorable example and psychological principles - so whether you're staring at a blank sheet of paper hoping for inspiration, or sitting in a meeting trying to decide how to improve your website, you'll find yourself recalling examples and ideas from this book.

It's practical and enjoyable - whether you're designing your first website or a seasoned professional I'd recommend it as a source of inspiration and ideas.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
I was a bit sceptical I have to admit, first skimming through the book seeing all the examples of modern web sites. I thought it would be a read about web sites that have done it the right way, but not really explaining the underlying principles. But I was wrong - this book is all about the underlying principles found in psychology and behavioural science. It a great summary with real world examples of the stuff you'd find in more theoretical and heavy books like Nudge, Predicatably irrational, Herd, Blink etc.

If you've read earlier releases on persuasive design and behavioural economics you will find a lot of repetition in this book, but it's written in such a nice, lighthearted way that it's still a pleasure. Besides that the way it summarises a big field taking the reader from examples to theory and back to examples makes it one of the best UX books I've ever read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
Accessibly written if sometimes gratingly American twee. Like that author backs up argument with research. References are not that formal though so hard to find. A good formatted bibliography would help. Taking away several ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Since I've read this book, I couldn't help but recommend it to everyone I talk to. If you're thinking about building a product or rethinking the user experience of your existing product, you can't miss this book!
It's very well written, and it's THE book to use as a reference.
UX is not only about colors, placement, etc. It's a 360° concept that takes into account the human brain, psychology and this book explains it in a way that anyone can understand.
You'll never see the world the same way again! Enjoy the read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
The little snippets of UX wisdom presented in this book inspired me immensely, I would even say some of the projects/designs would not get created without this book. Some of the things are the usual UX considerations, some are deceivingly simple or obvious things I didn't realize they should be taken into consideration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Truly an amazing and inspiring book, I can't do anything except highly recommend this book to any IT-professional that has any influence or how software and services are being shaped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
This is by far a great book. It's an extremely great book that should be a must read for everyone working in IT, whether you're developer, designer, manager, CEO etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
I loved this book, it's really easy to read and gives you ideas and other points of view of common situations on UX design. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Really good read with lots of ideas and inspiration to lift an interaction project from the functional to the delightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)