Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2011
I guess I was expecting some sort of guideish book of how to make the most out of your iPhones camera instead of just getting a photodiary of the author's last year scouting photoshoot locations.

Some pictures are cool though and there is a little bit of story in there as well. But don't expect a dummies guide to snapping artistic picture on your phone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
I bought this after reading an online recommendation, and was really dissapointed. I found it neither interesting nor inspiring.

There are plenty of really good photography books out there, look around before getting this one.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
The great thing about this book is that it's not trying to be flashy by giving a showcase of stunning shots. The photos are more commonplace and 'real'. This book is more of a creative approach to looking around you and actually seeing what's there instead of constantly trying to catch that 'perfect' image. The books message is simple - have fun with your camera and try experimenting with the simple things around you. Give this book a go. It made me loosen up a bit and start having fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
If you are a photographer and have an iPhone this book is worth a look. It inspires you by showing what is possible with a simple camera. Though iPhone based it shows what can be achieved by using your imagination and being creative. True Chase Jarvis is already a great photographer but I have produced some good images after reading this, images I wouldn't have bothered trying before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
Buona raccolta di immagini scattate con iPhone 3g. Merita 4 stelle soprattutto perché si tratta del primo prodotto del genere, che ha contribuito notevolmente alla nascita e alla diffusione della Iphoneography. Oggi, sicuramente, in moltissimi album online possiamo trovare immagini di maggiore impatto, ma in quel momento le app fotografiche erano davvero poche e non così complete come quelle attuali.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
I don't often post negative reviews but I thought that this book was very overrated.
Great title to draw you in, but in the end, the content was less than spectactular.
I am a bit disappointed not to have done more research befor ethe purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
LOW rating because I don't agree with the logic
There's an old saying that 'if you want to smoke, then you got to carry cigarettes'

Same with pictures
If you really want to take photos, then carry a camera
Cameras these days are a lot smaller

And to me, many people have just become lazy
Before phones started having cameras, many of us who wanted to take pictures would have a small camera with us - Olympus XA. Minolta TC, Konica Big Mini

Yes, the camera you have you may be the best camera
Just don't expect the results to be that good

How many times have we seen phone camera shots that are too dark (flash too weak), subject too small (no zoom), low contrast (no EV compensation), blur subjects (shutter lag)

The camera phone is the last resort, not the first option
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Bought this book strongly inspired by the idea, must say its Chase's photo diary rather than any sort of guide.

The title contains the main message and the book is just an example of execution of the idea - which is quite dissapointing to be honest.
Didn't find it inspiring nor suprisingly creative. And just learned that iPhone photo quality is absolute rubbish when comes to printing except for very good outside light conditions.

As an guide - doesn't work at all.
As an photo album - very dissapointing as photos are surprisingly poor in both content & quality - got impression that Chase just randomly put some snapshots just slightly editing them - there are some plain out-of focus shots.

To sum up, may be inspiring in a way as some shots are quite nice, but was expecting more than just some over-saturated & noisy snapshot collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
Ok I guess, but I'd just look up the website to get the idea, images don't convert well to print.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Just a book of pictures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)