Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£36.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2009
This is a MUST for any novice purchasing Photoshop as it gives you a great introduction of what can be achieved with this software. Having downloaded before and after images from the CD to accompany each lesson, the book takes you step by step through each control until you complete the assignment. However, as a complete novice I took a lot longer to complete the lessons than the book actually suggests, although with time I am sure I will improve. The lessons are clear, practical and give a excellent introduction to the limitless applications of Photoshop.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2009
What a fantastic book. I have recently completed a college course in advanced digital image manipulation techniques and learned loads about the power of Photoshop, albeit via CS2. That said, this book complements that course and for any beginner who yearns to become savvy in Photoshop, then this is the one to buy. No, not advanced, but it covers all the basic techniques and gives a worthwhile understanding of Photoshop CS4. Although the "Classroom in a book" series are not cheap to buy, I also bought "Photoshop Lightroom CS2 Classroom in a book" and was similarly impressed (see my review). Why pay an enormous amount of money for Adobe software and then skimp on learning how to get the best out of it? A learners book and worth every penny.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
I work in marketing and had dabbled with most of the CS4 suite, however i never felt that i was utilising much of the potential and was considering working towards becoming a professional designer.

this work books have opend my eyes to some of the possibilities of the software and have increased my confidence and ability to the point where i am now teaching others in the office.

i throughly recomend these books as a stepping stone into design or as a way of improving your understanding and utilisiation of the software.

from these you can then progress to the 'Real world' books from Adobe.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 July 2009
I have not yet completed all the tutorials in the book, but have done about half. I have only played around with Photoshop before and this book does provide a loose start, covering topics and techniques that you would not find by accident. However, as Photoshop is such a huge application, this can only brush the surface and will still leave the beginner wondering how to remember all the features it covers. As these sort of books go, it's not all all bad. It's a start.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
While a good number of the new CS4 capabilities are explored, many of the exercises were difficult to complete. In some cases the instructions were just plain wrong. In others the setting of the options necessary for the example to work were missing.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
While this book covers a lot of the functionality of Photoshop i.e. getting to grips with some of the tools, menus and options available, it does not give you any great examples of how to get the most out of this powerful tool.

This book should really be an instruction guide to be provided with the CS4 package rather than any sort of deeper learning. I felt that the examples should have been much more inspirational and challenging. There are two sorts of people that use photoshop on a regular basis, digital photographers, and graphic designers (to distill the basic uses down). I felt that the examples would excite neither user, and would only impress those that had never touched CS4 or any Photoshop incarnation previously.

I felt very misled by the other reviews of this book, as I thought that it would be very comprehensive in both the tasks you undertake and bredth of learning. If you are looking for a book that provides you with great, dynamic, and interesting examples of how to use photoshop as either a digital photographer or graphic designer there are a lot of other books which will capture your attention.

I do wonder if the other reviews are by people associated with the production of the book.

A positive mark for this book is that there is a CD-Rom with photos and jpegs for each of the classroom steps. But it makes me wonder why they did not explore some more vibrant and interesting ideas.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
Easy to follow,with each chapter taking you through a different set of exercises. Tells you how long each chapter should take which is useful. Lots of illustrations and clear explanations - I already had worked with photoshop quite a lot, but still find the book really useful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
This is a good text which introduces the reader to all the basics of Photoshop CS4. Not quite the book a photographer needs but it does cover a lot of ground.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
An extensive coverage of the items available in CS4. There appears to be less coverage of working on photographs than I would find ideal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I found the detailed step by step instruction very helpful, and easy to follow. I had some experience of an earlier version of Photoshop(10 years ago no kidding) and was worried approaching the exercises however once I started I found instructions easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse