Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2017
bit edge worn and bent on covers, but expected and delivered in good time, easy process and would recommend for the price it was
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
Well, what can I say? This just does what it says on the box and it helped me to do everything I needed to. You can become a competent user of this software through the tutorials but more importantly you can resolve individual issues using the help system. This will help many users to achieve their own results instead of resorting to paying for expensive outsourced providers. Thank you Adobe. I bought 3 products Illustrator, Dreamweaver and Photoshop Classroom in a Book. They all deliver what you need.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
This book is excellent for those starting out with this package. It is very detailed in its descriptions of the various tools and is supported with lots of useful tutorials. I use it as a reference book at hand. It is not a book full of good ideas as to how to do clever things with Illustrator. It is what it says "a classroom".
However, on the down side, where-O-where is the chapter on mesh??? Not a word. Why so? It detracts considerably from the usefulness of an otherwise excellent book and means I have to now buy another which covers the missing subject.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
These books are perfect, they take the user clearly through various 'tutorials' that intuitively initiate the learning process. I have four books in the series now and they are all so useful. I fully recommend using these books if you want to learn to use adobe software, you can't get better than this without having a member of Adobe staff sitting right there next to you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
It's hard to keep things simple, this book along with others in the series
does that. The mac and windows O S snapshots include both platforms, and it's a step by step
walkthrough. Unless you need instructions on how to put on a hat, you should find it easy going
from one chapter to the next, increasing the depth of your grasp as you progress.
Amazon provides the best prices, remember 90% effort 10% talent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
I work in marketing and had dabbled with most of the CS4 suite, however i never felt that i was utilising much of the potential and was considering working towards becoming a professional designer.

this work books have opend my eyes to some of the possibilities of the software and have increased my confidence and ability to the point where i am now teaching others in the office.

i throughly recomend these books as a stepping stone into design or as a way of improving your understanding and utilisiation of the software.

from these you can then progress to the 'Real world' books from Adobe.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
I have been using Adobe Illustrator for more than 2 years now, i am pretty good at it, but i still bought this book. There is always something more to learn! This book summarize the knowledge, making sure you know exactly what each tool does. I know most of the stuff as i went through it quickly the other day, but i am sure there is so much more for me to learn. Also, it's a good book to add to your collection, if you have one.

The only concern i have is that when the book arrived, it was scratched on the edges .. Like someone has been rubbing at it all along .. That's why i gave 4 stars only.

Anyway, very good product, good for educational purposes, don't doubt - get it!

ENCHO P
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
We have this book at work (along with Indesign and photoshop). I guess this book is okay for complete newbies who haven't used illustrator before, it does cover most of the program but does leave out some areas like how to style graphs which is a extremely useful feature of illustrator.
The main problem I have with these classroom books is that far too much space is wasted where it say things like "open file blah, blah......", "save file here......"
Overall not bad if you've never used illustrator but if you're fairly familiar with it don't bother. Personally I find the visual quickstart books to be a lot better but that's just my personal opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
Great book with practical tutorials with CD.
Sadly the book I received from Amazon was not delivered in perfect condition. There were scratches on the cover page. Tutorial CD along with it doesn't work as most files in it has errors.
I would recommend this book but please buy your own copy from the store and not online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
The book is pretty good at covering basics and is fairly well written. But it does not cover gradient meshes even slightly. I highly recommend using the 'look inside' feature to check the contents pages for your required topic.

The book was also scratched and slightly damp, but still perfectly usable. Just annoying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)