Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2017
Unfortunately this book contains errors: both typos and incorrect program logic. It is also extremely confusing and hard to use. It's not useless, and I have puzzled over it a lot and persevered to extract some value from it, but it could have been so much better.

Here's an example of an important error. On code in page 123 there are three successive calls to glVertexAttribPointer. This function, when used with vertex buffers, works on the currently bound buffer; thus each successive call erases the effect of the last one, because the bound buffer is unchanged. To work properly, the code needs a call to glBindBuffer before each call to glVertexAttribPointer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
If you plan on doing OpenGL ES 2.0 at all, this is a must have.

It is not very beginner friendly (if you have no experience with OpenGL) but takes you through all the different parts of OpenGL ES 2.0 and does so in a fairly platform agnostic manner (examples are written in C).

Probably not as much a book you would read from beginning to end as a reference to turn to for in-depth explanation of a feature or technique.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
As pointed out in previous reviews, openGL ES 2.0 is very different to previous versions. So be sure exactly what it is you need to know before purchasing. The book does provide a complete implementation of the fixed pipeline however, and sourcecode can be downloaded. Interestingly a time limited online version of the book is available via a code on the inside cover. While I've not used it yet I can see it coming in handy at some point.

A basic knowledge of openGL and C was enough to make the book perfectly readable for me, I read most of it before sitting down at the computer with it for the first time.

The book also provides a good reference guide, information on EGL and some information on iPhone development. I can see the tables of the built in functions coming in very handy too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
This is written by industry leading GL experts, so the information provided is spot on, and is very helpful for those who are new to programming in ES 2.0. It is more targeted towards those who have experience with GL and 3d graphics previously, but isn't so technical that it can't reasonably be followed by those starting out, but it will take a lot of cross reference and learn-as-you-go. I got this book as I was thrown into a project porting GL 1.x to ES 2.0 and this book has proven invaluable as an educational and technical info source.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I got this book a while back when I was first getting in to Android and iOS development. It is full of practical examples and code snippets that I still return to now when needing to check things. Definitely a useful book for anyone wanting to create GLES2 games for any platform.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
I was new to 3D graphics and android and I found this book very confusing. I think the book could be structured better and written more cleary. That said it is pretty in depth and on 3 readings I did get it. I don't think this book is for beginners...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
A great book which explains the principles (and some details) of using OpenGL upon embedded devices.
The book is nicely paced and covers some basic graphics concepts before moving onto details of vertex space, drawing buffers, textures and more. Each chapter contains background context, moves into OpenGL implementation, and covers API reference in good detail.
There is some iOS-specific code, but it not a distraction. I have used the book to create 3D for an Android software, and it was extremely valuable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
I started reading the book and it's a good book however before you buy this book there are some things you need to know:

This book is by no means an introduction to opengl or opengl es. It is mainly focused on opengl 2.0 and the programmable pipeline for shaders etc that it provides.
Therefore this book is no good if you're knew to opengl or want to learn about the fixed function pipeline that opengl es 1.0 and 1.1 provide.
Opengl 2.0 is not backwards compatible to opengl 1.1.

The book make some assumptions on the readers. You should be provicient in graphics programming and off course programming in general. Apart from that it, sort of, assumes you already have some knowledge about opengl.

So only buy this book if you really want to know more about 2.0 and already know about opengl.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
A great book, from the ground up. Covers nearly all aspects of ES 2.0 in an easy-to-read fashion, without skipping over anything important.

All code is written on and for Windows pc's although all of it compiles on ES 2.0 emulators.

Did not enjoy the renderMonkey examples that much, but they are just your average frag / vert shaders after all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)