Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2015
The book is a great reference to best practice's when developing in Java and I would recommend it.

Unfortunately the low cost is down to Amazon supplying a print-on-demand version which is larger and less convenient to carry around and use than the original. The front cover is also poor quality making it look like a counterfeit copy from a dodgy market.
If this matters to you go for the e-book version or spend a bit more and buy from a real bookshop.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2008
I'd describe this book as being essential reading for any serious Java developer.
* Joshua provides a clear, concise and insightful guide that will help you better understand the intricacies of Java.
* The book of 78 recipes and helped me immensely to improve my understanding of Java.
* It's provides a no holds barred insight into some of the peculiarities of the Java API's as it has matured over the years.
* In particular I found these chapters useful:
** Generics one of the most illuminating I've read. (Though I still find the Java syntax rather odd in places!)
** Enums and Annotations
** a good intro to the more up to date ways of doing Concurrency.
** I also found the defensive copying example most enlightening.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
The book is great -- but, THIS SELLER SENDS YOU A BOOK WITH 75% OF THE ORIGINAL BOOK'S CONTENTS (poor quality too, may I add) -- with the last 3 chapters available online, for 36 months. The chapters are also in a different order from the original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
This is only half of the book. Part of it was available online, but it is nowhere now. More than that, they patched the note (the red triangle) on the fact that this is an Indian Edition, which was not allowed to sell outside India. So this is simply a fraud.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Great book. Can be used for reference due to each item being split up. This will improve you as a software developer no-doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
A very classic and useful one and perfect status.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Strongly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
This book gives a comprehensive series of practical recommendations, on a broad range of topics in the Java 5 API.

It's packed with tips which make you go "aaaah I get it now", as in "I remember wondering about that and making a vaguely instinctive decision, instead of knowing precisely what to do and why".

Highly recommended for anyone who's been Java-ing for a year or 4, and wants to make better-informed design decisions.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2009
I bought both the first and second editions of this book. I feel that this book has probably made the biggest contribution to my understanding of programming in any language, although it is very much a book about the corners of Java and the pitfalls of many of its advanced features. Whilst many books give advice which fits a particular situation this book gives authoritative detail that empowers you to make a call on whether the technique fits the given situation or visa versa. This book is a must read for anyone who wants to undertake any type of code review of Java - particularly your own code!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
Great Book. Ideally the name of the book should be "Effective Programming using Java". The book is about how to program well using Java.

Its not a regular Java book which describes the Java language syntaxes, its not a book about design, its not a book about coding style. Its something different.The book is not for beginners. To get the fullest out of the book, you must have good knowledge on the Java language and you must have involved in developing couple of applications (excluding maintenance and tinkering and punchering) and you must be confused.

Whenever confused, we always look at the existing code and follow the idioms used there. There is no wrong in doing it. But many times we don't realize the reasoning behind each idiom. This books clears everything that you would expect. It not only explains the best practice but also when to use it and when not to use it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)