Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2009
Steve Krug covers many aspects of usability in an accessible, light-hearted and easy to read way.

It must be said, though, that Krug's idea of usability is usability for Americans. He assumes we all come from the same place, speak the same language, use the same language scripts and so on. He dismisses web forms in a couple of sentences and international web site users in even fewer. In terms of international viewers of web sites, some of his advice is downright damaging.

Read this as an introduction to usability, but look further too - otherwise we will never be rid of the scourge of the required "State" field in forms ...
66 comments| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
Since reading the first edition some years ago, I always refer to this book during usability presentations and recommend it to not only designers and developers, but also consultants, project managers and even clients. When the second edition was released in 2006 I purchased a few copies for the office and made it essential reading for everyone!

It's a very easy read and doesn't complicate matters with technical jargon, but instead relates to everyday tasks such as likening finding a product on a website to looking for a chainsaw in a hardware store. It examines the way we use the internet, it highlights that people don't use websites the way the designer intended and that we don't `read' websites, we scan them. It covers popular, common-sense solutions to these issues and uses clear, well-illustrated examples. It also talks about simplifying usability testing so you do enough of it, and uses some real-world examples to demonstrate.

It is an essential purchase for anyone involved in website creation and there are three new chapters in the second edition that help justify a new purchase if you already own the first edition.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2006
As someone approaching the subject of web usability for the first time I found Steve Krugs book to be an excellent introduction. This book is aimed at someone who would like to find out more about the basics of Usability testing. For example you may be a web designer of a small company where the business doesnt have the budget for a Usability department or a home user who wants to add that extra touch to your web pages or even as an introduction to the subject that escapes the tech lingo of Human Computer Interaction professionals.

I would give this book a big thumbs up.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2005
Very easy to read but full of useful advice. Every web site owner and web designer needs to read this book. The recommendations could easily add thousands to your bottom line if you're selling on line.
I particularly liked the "fixed" versions of home pages with the description of the "problem areas". All the other points covered were very clearly explained and easy to take on board. Particularly useful sections covering home page design and testing sites for usability.
I bought four books about usability recently and this is easily the best.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2005
Author honestly points out that his book is not about web application usablity and recommends "Web Application Design Handbook: Best Practices for Web-Based Software" himself. I ordered that book as well but I'm definitely not sorry about getting this one - it's good information for anyone working with web development.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2006
I found this book clear, easy to understand, pleasant to read and very useful. Steve Krug approaches the topic from a principles perspective, which means that readers do not need web development knowledge or experience. The text is very easy to read and accompanied in many places by pictorial examples showing what the author is explaining. If you have an interest in your own website or your company's website, even if you're not a techie, then this book is for you. You'll never look at a website the same again.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2005
You have designers on one side, and IT tech heads on the other. Each has their own idea of how to build a web site. But, both don't seem to know the key reason of having a business web site - results.
This book gives the practical advice that anyone involved in trying to create a successful web site needs that isn't biased. The main advice is to give your users the web site that THEY want. Easy to read, very honest advice.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2007
I believe I made changes to several websites after just a couple of chapters and they're much better for it.

Some of the points appear to be common sense and obvious, but only once you've read them!

I would describe this book as a must-read for web designers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
Wanting to get on with Version 2 of my B&B website, I was searching for a mentor to help with what works, what doesn't. Not many about, and I didn't want to spend days on a course. Lots of stuff is available about the nuts and bolts of building the site for tekkies, but how about usability - what works, what not to do. All very hard to find until Steve Krug's Book. Fantastic.

I found it very clear and informative and has helped me form a clear view for V2 of my website with confidence; better yet, to be able to have an informed debate with the builder! Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
"Don't Make Me Think" by Steve Krug is slightly different web design book than readers are used to find around. Starting from the misleading title because reading it will make reader to think a lot but also from its presentation which is more a picture book then the book.

But I can assure you that after reading/viewing it you'll have at least several ideas how to improve usability of your website and be able to better understand users - what they like and what they don't, how the regular user is browsing Internet.

Web usability is feature about many web designers don't think enough or not at all resulting in websites that are maybe nice or full of information but unusable.

The book starts with introducing of several guiding principles, followed by design patterns and tools which would help you improving website efficiency. Throughout all book the author insists on usability testing and where the book excels is that many examples are illustrated to see where and how the actual websites were enhanced. It's great to see that author is realist, he knows the usability testing could be very expensive, due to that he gives tips to designers how testing can be done cheaply, even with 10 cents per day.

I liked the most simplicity of idea he brought with sentences like:
- It should be very clear what is clickable
- Get rid of half the words, then get rid of half of what's left
- "The trunk test" - if you've been blindfolded and locked in a car trunk, you should be able to answer these questions about a site immediately when your blindfold is removed: What site is it? What page am I on?, What major sections does this site have?, Where can I go from here?, Where am I in relation to the rest of the site?, Where can I go to search?

In many examples with existing websites author is going beyond just design, he discuss all the elements needed to make a nice and usable website - the content, the graphics, the navigation, etc.

Although the book is published 8 years ago, this is recommended read for any web designer or enthusiast, you'll be able to learn some useful tricks and get some tips to make good website or enhance existing one.
Because it's funny and easy to read, in same time providing tons of useful information, you'll read it cover to cover.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)